Research Seminars Schedule

    

 

 

      

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

For this Fall semester, Wednesday seminars will be held in Conference Room 5047 (5th floor, Lee Shau Kee Business Building, HKUST) while Friday seminars will be held in Conference Room 6045 (6th floor, Lee Shau Kee Business Building, HKUST), during 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm.

  

Notes to visitors:

Department of Economics is located on the 6th floor of the Lee Shau Kee Business Building in the Lee Shau Kee Campus at the southern end of HKUST. To obtain a Chinese address of HKUST to show the taxi driver, click HERE  or download a location map HERE.  

  

Fall 2019

 
Date Speaker Presentation
6 Sept (Fri)

Prof. Kurt Mitman

Stockholm University

The Fiscal Multiplier
11 Sept (Wed)

Prof. Tongbin Zhang

Shanghai University of Finance & Economics

New Tests of Expectation Formation with Applications to Asset Pricing Models
19 Sep (Thurs)
LSK6045
11:00-12:00pm

Prof. Wooyoung Lim

HKUST

Cheap-Talk with Non-Bayesian Updating
20 Sept (Fri)

Prof. Saki Bigio

University of  California, Los Angeles

A Model of Intermediation, Money, Interest, and Prices
2 Oct (Wed)

Prof. Alonso De Gortari

Darmouth College

On the Geography of Global Value Chains
4 Oct (Fri)

Prof. Shuo Liu

Peking University

Delegating Performance Evaluation
18 Oct (Fri)

Prof. Dun Jia

Renmin University

Attention, Uncertainty Reduction and Pre-announcement Premium in China
Joint IEMS
23 Oct (Wed)

Prof. Andrei Markevich

New Economic School, Moscow

A Regional Perspective on the Economic Development of the late Russian Empire
25 Oct (Fri)
LSK1005
10:30-12:00pm

Prof. Mathieu Taschereau-Dumouchel

Cornell University

Cascades and Fluctuations in an Economy with an Endogenous Production Network
30 Oct (Wed)

Dr. Shota Ichihashi

Bank of Canada

Non-Competing Data Intermediaries
1 Nov (Fri)

Prof. Arpita Chatterjee

University of  New South Wales

Trade and Minimum Wages in General Equilibrium: Theory and Evidence
8 Nov (Fri)

Prof. Jin Yeub Kim

Yonsei University

Neutral Public Good Mechanisms
13 Nov (Wed)

Prof. Yves Zenou

Monash University 

Are Estimates of Early Education Programs Too Pessimistic?
Evidence from a Large-Scale Field Experiment that Causally Measures Neighbor Effects
22 Nov (Fri)

Prof. Alexandre de Corniere

University of  Toulouse

Data and Competition: A General Framework
29 Nov (Fri)

Prof. Qinggong Wu

HKUST

Robust Binary Voting

  

Spring 2019

 
Date Speaker Presentation
8 Feb (Fri)

Dr. Aaron Mehrota

Bank for International Settlements

Disagreeing during Deflations
18 Feb (Mon)
LSK6045
4:00-5:30pm

Prof. Philip Neary

University of London and HKUST

Netflix Games: Local Public Goods with Capacity Constraints
1 Mar (Fri)

Prof. Gianmarco Ottaviano

Bocconi University

Comparative Advantage, Competition, and Firm Heterogeneity
8 Mar (Fri)

Prof. Takeshi Murooka

Osaka University

Deception under Competitive Intermediation
13 Mar (Wed)
LSK6045
12:00-1:30pm

Prof. Wooyoung Lim

HKUST

Bargaining and Time Preferences:
An Experimental Study
15 Mar (Fri)

Prof. Matthew Mitchell 

University of  Toronto

Our Distrust is Very Expensive
20 Mar (Wed)

Prof. Erik Lindqvist

Stockholm School of  Economics

Long-run Effects of Lottery Wealth on Psychological Well-being
22 Mar (Fri)

Prof. Hiroaki Kaido

Boston University

Robust Likelihood-Ratio Tests for Incomplete Economic Models
27 Mar (Wed)

Prof. Leo Kaas

Goethe University Frankfurt

Low Homeownership in Germany - A Quantitative Exploration
29 Mar (Fri)

Prof. Andrei Hagiu

Boston University

Creating Platforms by Hosting Rivals
Joint IEMS
3 Apr (Wed)

Prof. Lin Tian

European Institute of  Business Administration (INSEAD)

Division of Labor and Productivity Advantage of Cities:
Theory and Evidence from Brazil
10 Apr (Wed)

Prof. Alexei Onatski

Cambridge University

Spurious Factor Analysis
Joint SOSC & IEMS
11 Apr (Thu)
AB3301
12:00-1:30pm

Prof. Maitreesh Ghatak

London School of Economics

Why Do People Stay Poor?
Joint SOSC
17 Apr (Wed)

Prof. Claire Lim

Queen Mary University of  London

The Political Economy of Medicaid:
Ideology, Eligibility, and the Consequences of Cost-Saving Measures
26 Apr (Fri)

Prof. Jinyue Li

City University of  Hong Kong

Housing Prices and the Comparative Advantage of Cities
3 May (Fri)

Prof. Xiao Fu

Fudan University

The Incentives of Patent-ownership Fragmentation of Standard-setting Organizations:
Theory and Empirical Evidence
8 May (Wed)

Prof. Benson Leung

Cambridge University 

Limited Cognitive Ability and Selective Information Processing
10 May (Fri)
LSK1003
1:30-3:00pm

Prof. Andres Santos

University of  California, Los Angeles

The Wild Bootstrap with a “Small” Number of “Large” Clusters
17 May (Fri)

Prof. Seung Chan Ahn

Arizona State University

Likelihood Based Inference for Dynamic Panel Data Models
24 May (Fri)

Prof. Chen Zhao

The University of Hong Kong

Revealed Neural Network Utility
29 May (Wed)

Prof. Dmitry Ryvkin

University of Florida

Tournament Rewards and Heavy Tails
31 May (Fri)

Prof. Pierre Dubois

Tolouse School of  Economics

On the Effect of Parallel Trade on Manufacturers’ and
Retailers’ Profits in the Pharmaceutical Sector

     

Winter 2019

 
Date Speaker Presentation
15 Jan (Tues)
LSK1001
12:00-1:00pm

Prof. Thomas Ross

University of British Columbia


Buffer Joint Ventures

  

 Last modified: 4 December 2019