28.12.2016

How Corporate Scandals Affect Political Ties & Market Credibility

ZHANG, Fang | WONG, T.J. | HUNG, Mingyi

A manager bribes government officials; a manager of a state-owned enterprise misappropriates its assets; accounts are manipulated to inflate earnings… How do corporate scandals such as these affect a company’s value in terms of political ties and market credibility – and what is the relative importance of these two factors?

While previous studies have focused on the effects of either political ties or market credibility on value,

Mingyi Hung, T.J. Wong and Fang Zhang sought to compare the value of one versus the other, and to focus on emerging economies where governments exert significant control on markets. They chose China for three reasons: it has prevalent state-connected enterprises and a relatively high frequency of corporate scandals; like other emerging economies there are competing political and economic forces that shape the relative importance of political ties and market credibility; and as the world’s second largest economy, it provides rich market depth. Government control over the corporate sector in the Mainland remains strong, and political ties enable state and non-state firms to engage in implicit and explicit contracts, ranging from capital financing and operational contracts to direct subsidies. Scandals that lead to the destruction of these ties reduce value by harming future opportunities for government contracts. However, the growth in market infrastructure, legal institutions and regulations has resulted in more market-based contracts among listed firms, making market credibility increasingly important.

The research team hypothesized that that scandals signaling the loss of political ties have a greater negative effect on firm value than scandals signaling the loss of market credibility. But as recent economic reforms have shifted the country from political-based to more market-based contracting, market credibility may be just as important -- if not more important -- than political ties.  They tested this using a sample of 236 corporate scandals that took place between 1997 and 2005 and resulted in enforcement actions by the Chinese courts and securities regulators. The scandals were divided into three categories: political; mixed political and market-related; and market scandals.

They discovered that political and mixed scandals were associated with worse stock returns than market scandals. The greater negative market reactions associated with these two categories were primarily driven by firms that rely more on political networks – suggesting the Chinese economy is more political-based. These firms experienced a larger decrease in operating performance and loans from state-owned banks, and saw greater destruction of their political networks, reflected in movement in and out of political directors.

The research is significant because it was the first to compare the price effects and other economic consequences of scandals that signal the destruction of political ties versus scandals that flag up the destruction of market credibility. It also complements prior research of political ties by focusing on both the net benefits and costs of losing political ties. Contrary to other research that the possession of political ties negatively affects post-IPO stock returns of Chinese firms, this team found that the destruction of political ties is associated with a decline rather than a rise in firm value. The finding suggests that while scandal-hit firms in China likely still bear the costs from excessive government control and intervention, they lose their expected benefits and rents from state loans and other government contracts.

HUNG, Mingyi

Head, Fung Term Professor of Accounting, Chair Professor
Accounting

28.12.2016

公司丑闻如何影响政治关系和市场信誉

张芳 | WONG, T.J. | 洪明仪

经理贿赂政府官员;国企经理侵吞国企资产;操纵账目,虚报盈利……这类公司丑闻如何从政治关系和市场信誉方面影响公司价值,这两个因素的相对重要性如何?

前人重点研究政治关系或市场信誉对公司价值的影响,但洪明仪、黄德尊和张芳力求对比两者的相对作用,并以政府对市场行使显著控制力的新兴经济体为重点。他们出于三个原因选择以中国为研究对象:中国有大批与国家有关联的企业,公司丑闻相对频发;与其他新兴经济体一样,中国也有彼此竞争的政治和经济力量,形成政治关系和市场信誉的相对重要性;中国作为世界第二大经济体,有丰富的市场深度。政府对大陆企业的控制依然很强,且政治关系使国企和非国企参与隐性和显性的合同,从资本融资和运营合同到直接补贴,无所不包。丑闻导致这些关系毁灭,损害了公司未来获取政府合同的机会,因而降低了公司的价值。然而,市场基础设施、法律制度和监管的发展已经导致在上市公司中授予合同时更以市场为导向,使市场信誉日益重要。

研究团队假设,标志着政治关系丧失的丑闻比标志着市场信誉丧失的丑闻对公司价值的负面效应更大。但是,由于近来的经济改革已经使中国在授予合同上从政治导向更多地转向市场导向,市场信誉即便不比政治关系更重要,可能也是同样重要。作者以1997到2005年发生的236起公司丑闻为样本,这些丑闻导致中国法院和证券监管机构采取执法行动。丑闻被分成三类:政治丑闻、政治与市场混合丑闻以及市场丑闻。

他们发现,政治丑闻和混合丑闻与股市回报恶化的相关度甚于市场丑闻。与这两个类别相关的更大负面市场反应主要由更多地依赖政治关系网的公司所驱动,这表明中国经济更多是基于政治。这些公司的营运绩效和国营银行贷款下降更多,政治关系网毁灭更甚,这反映在政治领导人的变迁上。

这项研究意义重大,因为它首次对比了标志政治关系毁灭的丑闻与标志市场信誉毁灭的丑闻的价格效应和其他经济后果。它重点研究丧失政治关系的净利益和成本。其他研究认为,拥有政治关系对中国企业首募后的股票回报有负面影响。恰恰相反,本研究发现,政治关系的毁灭与公司价值降低而非上升相关。研究结果表明,尽管受到丑闻冲击的中国公司或许仍然要承担政府控制和干预过多所带来的成本,但他们也失去了政府贷款和其他政府合同所带来的预期好处和收益。

洪明仪

Head, Fung Term Professor of Accounting, Chair Professor
Accounting