07.11.2018

The Impact and Effectiveness of Corporate Governance Reforms

FAUVER, Larry | HUNG, Mingyi | LI, Xi | TABOADA, Alvaro G.

The past 20 years has seen a marked global increase in the amount of corporate board reforms aimed at increasing firm value. It is believed that with greater outside representation on the board, insiders – such as top executives and shareholders – will be discouraged from reaping private rewards, and instead will encourage investment in projects that benefit everyone. In addition, it will also hopefully improve financial reporting transparency. This should then reduce the cost of capital by increasing outside financing, and thus increase firm value.

Reforms may be necessary if firms are prevented by corporate insiders from investing in good practices. Indeed, government enacted reforms can help immensely, as they require firms to improve board practices – regardless of controlling shareholders’ views – and encourage conventions that would not otherwise be adopted. Alternatively, critics of board reforms point out that existing practices reflect the optimal route once all factors have been considered. Any change to this balance is therefore unnecessary and may be harmful. As such, board reforms have been the subject of much research. However, it has so far always focused on single countries and has yielded mixed results. In response, a recent study by Fauver, Hung, Li, and Taboada has investigated the impact of corporate board reforms on firm value on a worldwide scale.

Using a difference-in-differences design, they first gathered stock price data from DataStream and financial data from WorldScope. Then, using reports from the World Bank, the European Corporate Governance Institute, local stock exchange regulators, as well as earlier studies, information on major corporate governance reforms in 41 countries between 1990 and 2012 was obtained. This represented almost 95 percent of the total market capitalisation worldwide. In doing so, the study examined the major components of the reforms and their approaches, the role of country-level legal conditions, and evaluated the changes in board structure as a result of the reforms.

Finding that board reforms do increase firm value, the research showed that an increase occurred on or after the reforms came into effect, with no suggestion of changes taking place beforehand. Importantly, the results showed that reforms involving board independence, but not those involving separation of chairman and CEO positions, drive the valuation increases.

Surprisingly, though the effects of reforms were found to be similar across Civil-law and Common-law countries, the effectiveness of reform approaches varied. A ‘comply-or-explain’ approach – where firms can choose to explain their non-compliance, and which generally occurs in countries where reform is more necessary – showed a greater increase in firm value; as opposed to a rule-based approach, where compliance is mandatory. Both, however, have their downsides, as the former is ultimately just a suggestion, and the latter runs the risk of overregulation. The authors conclude that “the subsequent change in board independence plays a vital role in explaining the effectiveness of the reforms”.

While the study successfully answers important questions that existing literature is unable to address, it also uniquely documents the effect of worldwide board reforms on firm value and identifies the underlying factors responsible for the impact on firm value.

HUNG, Mingyi

Head, Fung Term Professor of Accounting, Chair Professor
Accounting

07.11.2018

公司治理改革的影响和效益

FAUVER, Larry | 洪明仪 | LI, Xi | TABOADA, Alvaro G.

在过去20年,显然全球越来越多公司为了增加公司价值而改革董事会。人们相信,如果董事会有更多的外部代表,内部人员(如高级管理人员和股东)就不敢中饱私囊,并且反会鼓励他们投资于使大家都受益的项目。此外,改革还有望提高财务报告的透明度,借此应能增加外部融资,降低资本成本,从而提高公司价值。

如果公司内部人员妨碍公司投资于良好实务,则改革可能是必要的。的而且确,政府颁布的改革可以起到巨大的作用,因为政府颁布的改革要求公司改进董事会的工作方法,无需理会控股股东的意见如何,亦鼓励采纳本来不会采纳的做法。但另一方面,董事会改革的批评者指出,一旦将所有因素都纳入考虑,现有的做法反映的就是最佳路线;因此,改变这种平衡不但不必要并且可能是有害的。就是这样,董事会改革一直是许多研究的主题。然而,到目前为止,各项研究都一直专注于单一个国家,取得的结果各有不同。为回应此种情况,Fauver、洪、李和Taboada近期进行了一项全球规模的研究,调查公司董事会改革对公司价值的影响。

首先,他们使用差异中的差异设计,分别从DataStream和WorldScope收集股价数据和财务数据。然后,利用世界银行、欧洲公司治理研究所、当地证券交易所监管机构以及早期研究的报告,获取1990年至2012年间41个国家的主要公司治理改革信息。研究规模占全球总市值的近95%。如此,他们在研究中审查了改革的主要组成部分及方法、国家层面法律条件的作用,并评估了改革带来的董事会结构的变化。

研究发现董事会改革确实能提高公司价值,也表明增长是在改革生效之际或之后发生的,而无资料显示改革生效之前有任何变化。重要的是,结果显示推动估值增加的是涉及董事会独立性的改革,而非涉及董事长和首席执行官职位分立的改革。

令人意外的是,尽管发现改革在民法法系和普通法法系国家的作用相似,但改革方法的效益不一。“要么遵守,要么解释”的方法显示出较大的公司价值增长,在此种方法下,公司可以选择解释其不合规的情况,而此种方法通常发生在改革需求较为殷切的国家;与基于规则的方法相反,基于规则的方法强制必须合规。然而,两种方法都有其缺点,前者终究只是建议,而后者则有监管过度的风险。作者们总结:“董事会独立性随后的变化在解释改革是否具有效益方面的作用至关重要”。

在研究成功回答了现有文献无法解决的重要问题的同时,它也独到地记录了全球董事会改革对公司价值的影响,并确定了影响公司价值的潜在因素。

洪明仪

Head, Fung Term Professor of Accounting, Chair Professor
Accounting