Feature Stories

17.10.2017

Awards Recognize Teaching Excellence

Since the primary mission of the HKUST Business School is to advance learning through teaching and research, those involved are always keen to celebrate the success of faculty members.

Therefore, in 2016, Milind Rao, Professor of Business Practice in the Department of Economics and Garvin Percy Dias, Associate Professor of Business Education in the Department of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management (ISOM), were formally recognized with separate awards for teaching excellence.

An ability to read his students’ faces

The Michael G Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching at HKUST is awarded each year to the faculty member who best exemplifies continued pursuit of excellence, devotion to teaching, and the ability to inspire and motivate others.

In teaching undergraduate information systems majors, as well as elective courses for MSc and MBA students, Professor Dias has a track record that made him a worthy winner of the 2016 medal. More recently, he was a finalist of the HKUST for the University Grants Committee (UGC) Teaching Award, competing for a teaching award that honors faculty in Hong Kong who excel in teaching in the UGC sector. Actually, he was the first from the Business School and the third in the HKUST named a finalist in this prestigious award.

Among other accolades, he has been the only faculty who won the School of Business and Management’s Franklin Prize for Teaching Excellence four times, and featured twice in the annual university-wide student poll for the Best Ten Lecturers. Teams he coached won the first two annual case competitions held by the China Hong Kong Chapter of the Information Systems Audit and Control Association, while one of Professor Dias’s students outscored practicing professionals to rank world number one in the 2015 Certified Information Systems Auditor exams and the first in Greater China. 

“As educators, what makes us happiest is seeing our students achieve their best possible level,” he says.

“Over the last eight years, I have taught 58 course sections and my average teaching rating is 93.2 - that is the overall instructor mark as rated by the students.”

Professor Dias is also quick to credit the support he gets from the Business School. “I feel very comfortable with the culture at HKUST and my colleagues here are wonderful,” he says.

He demonstrates his care about teaching excellence as being the Founding Chairman of the School’s Quality Assurance Committee and Director for the Center for Business Education.

Also thank for his unwavering efforts made in promoting IT governance, HKUST Business School was chosen the “Merit Award” recipient for the first IT Governance Achievement Awards (Public Sector) organized by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (China HK Chapter), supported by the Innovation and Technology Bureau of HKSAR Government.

Professor Dias notes that educators have to go through their own learning process when it comes to developing their skills.

“As our students often have no work experience, it can be difficult for them to understand the concepts. I realized the best way to teach would be by creating real-life examples. So, for every concept I teach, I come up with a simple story to explain it.”

Professor Dias has also developed an ability to read his students’ faces to see if they have grasped what he is teaching, and he is willing to make himself available to help anyone having difficulties.

“I want 100 per cent of my class to understand everything,” he says. 

A course that won “audience vote”

Both Professor Rao and the school were praised in particular for their roles in the CEMS Master’s in International Management program, a collaborated degree delivered by a global alliance of 30 leading business schools from around the world.

More than 1,200 of the program’s postgraduate students selected the HKUST Business School as the CEMS School of the Year. And the elective course in global macroeconomics, taught for the first time by Professor Rao, was named as one of the three CEMS Courses of the Year.

“I didn’t even know there was an award, or that I was up for it,” Professor Rao says. What made it even more pleasing, he notes, was that his course won the “audience vote”, rather than being picked by the program administrators.

“I think my colleagues would agree that, hands down, an award given by students means a lot more.”

With a good mix of students from across the globe, Professor Rao greatly enjoyed his CEMS teaching. He found the questions raised were very thoughtful and some of the challenging choices made by students were quite surprising. He had assumed that, given a choice, most students would want to focus on markets they knew well.

“What I found interesting was that the Europeans wanted to work on China-related topics and vice versa,” he says.

The fact that his efforts on the CEMS program weren’t the only HKUST contribution to be recognized also meant a lot to him.

“It was especially gratifying that the school and the people in the program office also won. The latter really deserve recognition, particularly when you compare the size of our office with those in some of the schools in North America and Europe.”

HKUST Business School was the first in Asia to be named CEMS School of the Year – in only the third year it had participated.

Professor Rao also wants to acknowledge the contribution of Chris Tsang, currently Executive Director (School Administration), who first encouraged him to teach a CEMS course.

“This is part of the spirit of HKUST Business School,” he says. “Chris is not on the official list of acknowledgements, but people like that just think of the overall program.”

Professor Rao first came to HKUST in 2003 and, he has seen a continual rise in the expectations that students - have of their professors. 

From his own perspective, he can point to three key qualities a good teacher should possess.

“First, some degree of empathy with the students - to understand where your audience is coming from, what they are interested in, and the ways you can get them interested in the topic you are teaching,” he says.

“The second is clear presentation skills. And the third is the respect you show for your students. I want my classes to be an environment in which the learning goes both ways.”

商学院故事

17.10.2017

追求卓越 教学相长

科大商学院致力透过教学和研究鼓励学习、不断求进。正因如此,有份参与研究和教学的教职员均乐意分享心得,以及所获赞誉。

2016年,科大经济学系教授华勉力(Milind Rao)和信息、商业统计及营运管理学系副教授陈斯(Garvin Percy Dias)先后获得奖项,令他们的卓越教学成就获肯定。

了解学生反应

科大杰出教学奖─祁敖卓越教学服务奖(Michael G Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching)每年皆颁予一位表现卓越的教员,表扬他多年对教育、力臻完善和鼓励学生的贡献。

无论在指导主修信息系统的本科生、理科硕士生及工商管理硕士生选修课时,陈斯教授皆表现突出,故获选为2016年祁敖卓越教学服务奖得主,堪称实至名归。本年他又获大学提名,竞逐大学资助教育委员会(UGC)的教学奖,这是高等教育界表扬优秀教员的重要奖项。陈斯教授是科大商学院首位、科大第三位角逐这殊荣的教职员。

此外,陈斯教授是至今唯一一位教员连续四年获颁商学院Franklin教学成就奖,亦两度获学生选为年度十大最佳讲师之一。在他带领下,学生在国际信息系统审计协会(中国香港分会)举办的年度范例比赛的首两届称冠;另外,他的其中一位学生,更在2015年信息系统审计师的考试超越其他执业审计师,成功登上全球第一名。

陈斯教授认为,作为教育工作者,最令他欣喜的是见证学生尽力将自己的成就推至顶峰。

「在过去八年,我教过58个学科,而我的平均学生评分是93.2─这是由学生给予教师的教学评分及肯定。」

陈斯教授感谢商学院对他的支持。「我十分欣赏科大的文化,亦欣赏共事同事。」

他关注教学质素,是大学教学质素委员会(Quality Assurance Committee)的创会成员,以及担任商学教育中心(Center for Business Education.)总监。

此外,他大力推广信息科技管治,令科大于2017年获国际信息系统审计协会(中国香港分会)颁发科技信息管治成就奖(公营界别)优等奖。

陈斯教授寄语教育工作者,要改善教学技巧必须经历一个自我学习阶段。

「由于学生欠缺工作经验,在理解某此概念时可能出现困难。最好的解决方法就是发掘一些现实生活的例子,作为辅助解释。就这样,每讲解一个概念,我就会构思一个简单的实例作阐释。」

除实例外,陈斯教授亦学会「读脸」。他懂得解读学生的面部表情,知道他们是否真正明白自己的教学内容。而他在课余,亦十分乐意协助学生解决疑难。

「我希望课堂所有人皆百分百明白所有的教学内容。」

学生眼中的最佳学科

同于去年,华勉力教授及学院同获全球管理教育联盟(CEMS)表扬。CEMS与全球30家顶尖学府成员(包括科大商学院),携手合办国际管理硕士课程(CEMS Master’s in International Management)。

去年,超过一千二百名修读该课程的硕士生参与投票,最终科大成为CEMS年度最佳学院。而作为课程内其中一个自选课,由华勉力教授首次为课程执教的全球宏观经济学,亦获选为三个CEMS 年度学科之一。

「我之前根本不知有这奖项,又或自己是否实至名归。」华勉力教授表示。令他倍感高兴的,是这奖项由「学生投票」选出结果,而不是来自课程管理层的选择。

「我想作为教师,大家都会重视学生的选择及其意义。」

面对来自全球各地的学生,华勉力教授绝对享受他的教学。他发现,学生们提出的问题,不少都经过深思熟虑,而他们好些具挑战性的提问内容令他出乎意料。他原预计学生多会倾向选择专注自己熟悉的市场上。

「结果却发现,欧洲学生希望参与跟中国有关的课题,而中国学生则对欧洲课题更感兴趣。」

此外,他认为CEMS课程和科大取得的认同意义重大。

「教授与学院一同获奖,令我倍感自豪。学院绝对值得表扬,尤其当我院的规模与北美及欧洲某些大学比较时。」

科大商学院是亚洲首家大学获选为CEMS年度学院,而学院参与此课程仅短短三年。

华勉力教授希望借此机会感谢学院执行总监(学院行政)曾志安先生(Chris),多得他鼓励自己执教CEMS课程。

「这是科大商学院的精神。」他说:「Chris虽然不在『官方』的鸣谢名单上,但他与学院其他同事一起本着同一出发点,考虑整个课程对学生的裨益。」

华勉力教授于2003年加入科大。执教鞭多年,他见证学生对教授的期望有增无减。他个人认为,一位好教师应拥有三种特质。

「首先,教师对学生须拥有某程度的同理心。我们得理解学生的处境,他们的兴趣,以及找出以何种方式才能令他们对科目感兴趣。」

「第二是清晰的教学。至于第三点,是对学生的尊重。在班房内,我希望学习是双向的。」