Feature Stories

18.10.2017

Family Affairs: Common Threads of Four Family Business Leaders

Family business is a catch-all term covering enterprises that vary widely in size, generation and purpose. They may also be organized around a range of governance and management structures. The balance between ownership and management, and the degree to which individual family members are involved, may differ. Meanwhile, the relative value and weighting assigned to family interests and business interests is probably unique in each case. But along with the differences there are, of course, common threads in their practices and philosophies.

Passing on a family’s values

Values are the cornerstone for life, and offer the meaning of existence as a family. Successful families demonstrate how values guide them to make fundamental decisions, now and across generations.

In his role as the Chairman of Jebsen and Co, Dr Hans Michael Jebsen strives to live up to a number of key family values. These include a commitment to the long-term future of the company, acceptance of one’s responsibility to those dependent on its ongoing success, and an appreciation of the need to contribute something of value to the wider community.

Dr Jebsen believes the only way these values can be passed on to the next generation is by example. “You can’t clone people, and you shouldn’t try to. Every generation should develop its own ideas. But without values, everything eventually becomes worthless.”

The philanthropic work of RGE owner Mr Sukanto Tanoto, and his wife Mrs Tinah Bingei Tanoto, began in Indonesia in the 1980s. Mr Tanoto says his children were involved in the family’s philanthropy, as well as its commercial activities, from a young age.

“One of our family values is gratitude,” he says. “We believe we should always feel grateful for what we have, and contribute back to society and to those who haven’t had the same good fortune.”

The Tanoto Foundation was established in 2001 to more effectively express this value. “Today our next generation is active in personally overseeing and participating in the Tanoto Foundation’s programs,” Mr Tanoto says.

Successfully handling diversity

Diversity in a family business is a natural phenomenon, but this can be the breeding ground for conflicts if not well managed. Leading family businesses can embrace diversity and find ways to turn this into a competitive edge.

Mr Max Ma, the Chairman of the Lee Heng Diamond Group, has eagerly embraced the new skills, and backed the fresh ideas, of his family’s next generation.

While he sees their talents as vital in a digital future, Mr Ma believes that, within a family, one should find the commonality and accept the diversity. “It’s important to complement each other and the mission of the family,” he says. “Sometimes the hardest thing has though been to stand back and keep your mouth shut, just so they (the younger generation) can make their mistakes.”

As a family venture evolves into a multi-generational enterprise, they may need to develop a system to address the diversity. The Lee brothers - members of the fourth generation of the Lee Kum Kee - felt a lack of freedom to develop their own ideas, which led to a decision to diversify the company’s activities in the early 1990s. The scope, which has allowed the brothers to more fully use their skills and initiatives, has seen the business subsequently go from strength to strength.

“If we didn’t diversify and allow each of us to go out and do things, and if we didn’t set up the Family Council in 2002, we would not be able to do what we are doing right now,” Mr David Lee, Director, Lee Kum Kee Company Limited, explains.

Equally significant for Mr Lee have been the steps taken to develop much warmer personal relationships within the extended family, through its social and philanthropic activities. “Not all family members will be actively involved in the business, but they no longer have to feel left out,” he says.

Responding to a paradigm shift

For family businesses spanning generations, change and disruption is nothing new – even if the current advances in digital technology are proving uniquely revolutionary.

In the late 1980s, Mr Ma saw which way the wind was blowing and diversified the family’s still successful diamond importing business by establishing the MaBelle chain of stores to sell relatively low-cost jewelry. Once again trying to ensure the family stay ahead of the curve, Mr Ma’s son and daughter launched the tech-focused company CoCoon in 2012, to cultivate Hong Kong’s startup community.

Though its roots were firmly in maritime trade, the Jebsen Company has adapted to a changing world and is now involved in activities that range from mining to manufacturing. “When we sold our shipping company after over 100 years involvement, that was not an easy decision,” Dr Jebsen admits. “There was no doubt an emotional attachment, and our identity hinged to a large degree on shipping.”

“Constant entrepreneurship” in the Lee family sets their way to navigate through the digital revolution. Their governance structure prepares them for change across generations. “Our past is not equal to our future. But we have the structure in a good shape and the feedforward loop necessary to tell us how we should respond to the paradigm shifts,” Mr Lee says.

Even in philanthropy, families need to go with the tides. Children of Mr Tanoto bring to his awareness, the evolving societal needs and ways to measure impacts of their philanthropy. “In addition to community, country, and company which concern me most, my next generation points to the importance of climate and customer. We now turn from 3Cs to 5Cs.”

商学院故事

18.10.2017

家族问道:四大家族企业领袖的共通点

「家族企业」是一个较笼统的名词,当中涵盖公司或集团,在经营规模、代际经历和成立目的上都不尽相同。他们亦有着不同的管治系统和经营架构。因此,无论在企业拥有权与管理权间取得平衡,或在安排个别家族成员参与公司业务的过程中,亦存在差异。尽管每个家族企业都有本身独特之处,对家族和企业的重视程度不一,但在芸芸不同的个案中,我们亦可在成功的家族企业的管理实践与哲学上,找到一些共通点。

薪火相传的价值观

价值观是人生的重要基石,对一个家族来说,价值观赋予家族延续的意义。成功的家族透过价值观引领成员作出重要的决策,而这可影响数代之久。

捷成汉博士身为捷成洋行主席,一直致力坚守家族的核心价值。这些重要的价值,包括承诺引领企业作长远发展,勇于接受并承担自身对企业成败的责任,以及企业对回馈社会大众的义务。

捷成汉博士相信,要让这些价值传承下一代,唯一的方法就是以身作则。「我们没办法将自己复制到下一代,且亦不该这样做。每一代人都应该发展属于自己、切合自己年代的想法,但如果没有价值主导,最后一切都会变得毫无意义。」

新加坡金鹰集团主席陈江和先生与太太陈黄瑞娥女士早于上世纪八十年代在印度尼西亚开展其慈善事业。陈江和先生称,他的子女早在年幼时已开始参与家族的慈善工作,以及一些与业务有关的活动。

他指出:「我们的家族都心存感恩之心,坚信应该时刻为自己所拥有的一切而感恩,并致力协助那些没我们那般幸运的人,积极回馈社会。」

陈江和基金会于2001年成立,主要希望将上述价值发扬光大。他还说:「今天,我们的下一代正积极亲身参与和监管基金会的项目。」

如何处理差异与多元化

每个家族企业都存在着差异或多元的想法,此乃自然现象。但若处理不当,这些差异会演变成冲突。要领导家族企业,其中一项条件就是接纳多元化,并设法将之反过来变成竞争优势。

利兴钻石集团主席马墉杰先生一直乐意接受新技术,对家族下一代的新想法,甚为支持。

一方面他明白下一代在这个数码未来可发挥举足轻重的价值,另一方面他亦相信在家族内求同存异的重要性。「重点是家族成员间互补不足,一同实践家族的使命。有时候,最困难的,就是退一步静观其行,让年轻一代去尝试、去犯错。」

当家族业务发展成一个跨代企业,下一步或许是时候要建立一套可兼容差异的系统。李锦记至今已传至第四代,于九十年代初,身为家族第四代的李氏兄弟希望自己的想法得到更多的发挥空间,因此,公司业务从那个时候开始变得多元化。这扩阔的空间,让李氏兄弟可全面发挥他们的才能与理念,令公司业务进一步发展壮大。

李锦记有限公司董事李惠雄先生解释:「假若当年我们没有走出既有的框框,朝着多元化的方向发展;又假如我们于2002年没有成立家族委员会,便不可能取得今天的成果。」

对外他勇于创新,对内李惠雄先生亦踏出同样重要的一步──透过家族的社交和慈善活动,与各成员建立更紧密、更贴心的关系。「家族里不是所有人都活跃于公司业务,但透过参与社交和慈善活动,至少各人不会感到被忽略。」

响应模式剧变

对于跨越数代的家族企业来说,他们都经历过不少转变,今天数码科技革命将有机会令各行各业出现颠覆性转变,这些转变亦是家族企业需要面对的。

早于八十年代末,马墉杰先生早着先机,趁其家族的钻石进口业务有稳定的成果,创立MaBelle连锁店,主打大众化和时尚的钻石配饰。至于另一个让家族走在潮流尖端的举动,是马墉杰先生与一对子女于2012年成立以创科为主的浩观(CoCoon),为初创企业提供一个创业交流平台。

捷成洋行尽管以航运贸易起家,顺着环境转变将业务拓展至矿务和制造业。捷成汉博士承认:「公司从事航运船务超过一百年,出售船务公司的决定绝不容易。毫无疑问,我们对此有所依恋,而我们的身份亦与此息息相关。」

「永远创业精神」是李锦记家族如何在数码革命下继续前行的方法。其管治制度让每代人都能随时应对转变。「我们的过去,并不等同未来。但我们有良好的系统和前馈循环,让我们知道该怎样应对环境剧变。」

即使是慈业事业,家族亦得跟随大环境作出转变。陈江和先生的子女让父亲知道,不论是社会上的需要,还是用以量度项目成败的指针,亦会因时间推展而有所不同。「我最关注当地小区(community)、所在国家(country)与公司(company)。但我的下一代让我看到气候(climate)和客户(customer)两个新范畴的重要性。因此,我们现时已由3C发展至5C了。」