Feature Stories

18.10.2017

Faculty Insight

Succession and Innovation: A Comparative Study between Chinese and Jewish Family Businesses
By Professor Roger King, Founder and Director of the Tanoto Center for Asian Family Business and Entrepreneurship Studies, HKUST Business School

Overseas Chinese and Jewish diaspora are often seen as manipulative outsiders in their host countries. However, compared to the 40 million overseas Chinese, the 14 million Jewish diaspora have greater influence, directly or indirectly, on the global economy. The Tanoto Center for Asian Family Business and Entrepreneurship Studies at HKUST, under the leadership of the author, explores how the overseas Chinese can learn from the Jewish diaspora in the areas of succession and innovation in family businesses...more


The Consequence of Family Succession on Firm Performance
By Professor Kasper Meisner Nielsen, Department of Finance, HKUST Business School

When heirs take the helm of the family business, it’s bad news for key employees striving for promotion. But is it also bad news for the firm?...more


Popularity of Family Business
By Professor Chen Tai Yuan, Department of Accounting, HKUST Business School

Family businesses, those owned and/or managed by a family, are probably the most popular form of corporate governance in the world. More specifically, in most countries, many public firms, including renowned large ones, remain under the control of families. This phenomenon appears to be more pronounced in East Asia. Even in advanced countries such as the US, family ownership is observed in many firms in the S&P 500 index...more


Transformation and Upgrading: Learning from Leading Mainland Chinese Family Businesses
By Professor Winnie Peng, Associate Director of the Tanoto Center for Asian Family Business and Entrepreneurship Studies, HKUST Business School

Family businesses have sprung up in mainland China since the 1978 reform and opening up policy and, over the years, have become the most significant sector among privately-owned enterprises. It is estimated that family businesses contribute 70 per cent of national GDP - and employ 75 per cent of the nation’s workforce. Over 85 per cent of the private sector consists of family firms, generating about half of tax income in 2016...more

Harilela Enterprises: Passing the Torch in a Family Business

In 2008, the then head of Harilela Enterprises, Dr Hari Harilela, was in his 80s and pondering how to ensure a smooth succession that would eventually place Aron, his only son, at the head of the business and the family...more

商学院故事

18.10.2017

灼见

传承与创新:华人与犹太家族企业的比较研究
香港科技大学商学院陈江和亚洲家族企业与创业研究中心创办人兼主任金乐琦教授

海外华人与散居在外的犹太人常被当地人视为左右大局的「外来者」。然而,相较4,000万之多的海外华人,1,400万犹太人对全球经济的直接或间接影响力却更大。由笔者领导的香港科技大学陈江和亚洲家族企业与创业研究中心,探讨了散居各地的犹太人家族企业和海外华人家族企业之间的异同,发掘值得华人借鉴的地方...全文


家族傳承對企業表現的影響
香港科技大學商學院金融學系Kasper Meisner Nielsen教授

當來自家族的繼承人接手企業,對企業內謀求晉升的高層僱員可能是一個壞消息,但對於企業是否亦然?...全文


家族企業的普及和未來發展
香港科技大學商學院會計學系陳泰元教授

家族企業(即由家族擁有和/或管理企業)可能是全球最普及的企業管治形式。多數國家有不少上市公司(包括著名型企業)目前仍為家族所掌控,這種現象在東亞地區尤其明顯。即使在美國等先進國家,很多標普(S&P)500企業亦是由家族持...全文


轉型與升級:中國內地大型家族企業的成長之路
香港科技大學商學院陳江和亞洲家族企業與創業研究中心副主任彭倩教授

1978年改革開放政策實施以來,中國內地的家企業紛紛湧現。經多年發展,家族企業已成為私營企業中最重要的一部。據估計,家族企業佔中國國內生產總值70%,並僱用全國75%的勞動力。家族企業私營企業超過85%2016帶來約一半稅收...全文

夏利里拉商业王国:家族企业薪火相传之道

2008年,当时年逾八十的夏利里拉家族企业掌舵人夏利莱博士(Dr Hari Harilela)正在思考,如何能确保企业顺利交接,让他唯一的儿子夏雅朗(Aron Harilela)成为企业和家族的新一代掌舵人...全文