Feature Stories

18.10.2017

Shaping the Future of Chinese Family Business

The huge contribution family businesses make to the global economy doesn’t always get the level of attention it deserves. From Ford and Walmart in the US to Volkswagen and BMW in Germany, many world-renowned brand names are the public face of such enterprises...more

BizInsight@HKUST Forum Examines the Future of Chinese Family Businesses

In mid-September, a distinguished array of speakers shared their insights with a packed ballroom at a hotel in Hong Kong. Highlights of the forum were a donation renewal ceremony recognizing the Tanoto Foundation’s continued support for HKUST Business School’s Tanoto Center for Asian Family Business and Entrepreneurship Studies, and a thought-provoking presentation followed by a panel discussion...more

Family Affairs: Common Threads of Four Family Business Leaders

Family business is a catch-all term covering enterprises that vary widely in size, generation and purpose. They may also be organized around a range of governance and management structures. The balance between ownership and management, and the degree to which individual family members are involved, may differ. Meanwhile, the relative value and weighting assigned to family interests and business interests is probably unique in each case. But along with the differences there are, of course, common threads in their practices and philosophies...more

The Outward-looking Family Philanthropy

Since Mr Sukanto Tanoto founded RGE in Indonesia in 1973, the business has grown into an international resource-based group of companies with assets exceeding US$18 billion and a workforce of over 60,000. Alongside the development of the business, Mr Tanoto has been very keen that he, and the members of his family, actively give something back - both to the communities his companies operate in and to the wider society... more

Evolution: Putting a Premium on Collective Happiness

Lee Kum Kee was founded in Nanshui, Zhuhai, Guangdong in 1888 and its Chinese-style sauces have gone on to sell around the world. In response to diverse aspirations of individual family members, the decision was made in 1992 to evolve the business into a holding company that places an emphasis on a governance structure, and a modus operandi, that aim to maximize harmony within the family...more

Taking Transgenerational Entrepreneurship into the Digital Age

With the launch of the MaBelle jewelry store chain more than two decades ago, Mr Max Ma opened up a whole new market for the Lee Heng Diamond Group founded by his father. Now Mr Theodore Ma, Max’s son, is expanding the family’s engagement with  the innovations beyond the family business  through CoCoon, an entrepreneurship network he co-founded in 2012...more

Putting Succession into Perspective

Dr Hans Michael Jebsen, Chairman of Jebsen and Co, can look back on a company history that has seen the family-owned trading group navigate extremely stormy political times, along with economic choppy waters. It’s with this perspective, in which survival has sometimes been a more pressing issue than succession planning, that he views the process of passing on the baton of leadership...more

商学院故事

18.10.2017

华人家族企业的未来发展

家族企业对全球经济贡献良多,然而却未获得应有的注视。事实上,在全球众多家族企业中,有不少属举世知名的品牌,例如美国的福特(Ford)和沃尔玛(Walmart)、德国的大众(Volkswagen)和宝马(BMW)等都是家喻户晓的例子...全文

BizInsight@HKUST论坛探讨「华人家族企业的未来」

九月中旬,BizInsight@HKUST论坛邀请一众杰出讲者,就「华人家族企业的未来」一题畅抒高见,论坛包括专题演讲和互动讨论环节,内容令人深思家族企业的前景。这次座无虚席的活动于香港一间酒店宴会厅举行,主要环节还包括一项捐赠仪式,以鸣谢陈江和基金会再度慷慨捐款,继续支持科大商学院陈江和亚洲家族企业与创业研究中心...全文

家族问道:四大家族企业领袖的共通点

「家族企业」是一个较笼统的名词,当中涵盖公司或集团,在经营规模、代际经历和成立目的上都不尽相同。他们亦有着不同的管治系统和经营架构。因此,无论在企业拥有权与管理权间取得平衡,或在安排个别家族成员参与公司业务的过程中,亦存在差异。尽管每个家族企业都有本身独特之处,对家族和企业的重视程度不一,但在芸芸不同的个案中,我们亦可在成功的家族企业的管理实践与哲学上,找到一些共通点...全文

高瞻远瞩的家族慈善事业

S陈江和先生于1973年在印度尼西亚成立金鹰集团,集团发展至今已成为一家多元化的跨国管理公司,旗下拥有多家以发展资源为主的企业,资产值超过180亿美元,员工人数逾60,000名。陈江和先生在拓展业务之余,也与家人热心推动慈善事业,积极回馈业务所在的小区及广大社群...全文

家族演化:重视整体和谐快乐

李锦记1888年创立于广东省珠海南水镇,其中式酱料营销全球。为了让家族成员能各展抱负,1992年决定将李锦记发展为一家重视管治架构和运作模式的控股公司,旨在维护家族和谐...全文

数码年代的跨代创业之道

马墉杰先生廿多年前创办「MaBelle」钻饰连锁店,成功为其父亲所创立的利兴钻石集团开拓了另一个新市场;2012年,其子马衡先生则以共同创办人身份成立创业平台「浩观」(CoCoon),本着崭新的精神,在家族传统业务以外另辟新径,扩展家族业务...全文

传承是否至关重要?

捷成洋行主席捷成汉博士(Dr Hans Michael Jebsen)见证家族经营的贸易集团如何走过高峰低谷,经历过政局动荡不安的年代,亦曾受惠于经济蓬勃的发展。就是因为见尽过去大环境的高低起跌,在规划未来时,他察觉如何确保企业能继续经营下去,有时较传承更为重要...全文