Feature Stories

03.01.2018

Marketing in a Digital World

The rapid rise of digital media in recent years has had a major impact on the marketing sector, bringing a host of challenges and opportunities.

New tools and technologies have made it possible to track results and manage strategies far more effectively. And with mobile devices giving users easy online access, marketers and advertisers can now use the collected data to build a clearer picture of consumer preferences and how prospective buyers choose to be engaged.

Besides that, the expanding array of channels, social media platforms and electronic devices has implications for businesses of every size. Customers now expect personal engagement, with the right message, at the right time, on the right device.

In a series of four interviews, senior executives from Google Greater China, Tencent Music Entertainment Group, McDonald's Hong Kong and TVB share their perspectives on digital marketing as it applies to their particular sectors. These companies all develop their own solutions to personalize consumer engagement, in response to the changing business landscape.

But to succeed on the road to personalization, marketers are also required to extract useful insights from their customer data and develop new revenue models, while dealing with issues like customer privacy and cybersecurity. This is why rigorous studies in different and boarder domains are so important.

Research by the HKUST Business School has not only helped digital marketers become more agile and effective, but also looked into different fields of consumer behavior, providing insights to companies to build customer loyalty and accelerate growth.

Also read...Putting Digital Marketing in Context

商学院故事

03.01.2018

数码营销新世代

数码媒体于近年迅速冒起,为市场营销带来新的挑战与商机。

新工具与科技面世,让业界可追踪消费行为,从而制定更见成效的市场推广策略。今天消费者可透过流动设备轻松上网,因此市场营销及广告界有更多机会运用搜集得来的数据,分析和掌握消费者的偏好,并找出更佳的方法连系潜在客户。

此外,扩阔了的沟通渠道、新的社交媒体以至电子设备,对各规模大小的公司都有一定的影响。消费者渐趋重视更多个人化的连系──换句话说,他们期望在适当时候、适当设备/渠道上接收合适的信息。

今期我们走访了四家涉及不同行业的公司,包括来自谷歌大中华区腾讯音乐娱乐集团香港麦当劳电视广播(TVB)的高层,分享了他们对数码营销的看法及介绍针对其行业的应用。这四家企业皆找出如何与个别客户加强个人化连系之路,以响应行业面对的各种变化。

要在个人化的路上取得成功,市场营销从业员需从顾客数据中撷取有用的资料,既要发展出新的经营模式,同时亦要兼顾客户私隐及网络安全等问题。这彰显了研究不同市场学及领域的重要性。

科大商学院进行的研究不仅让数码营销人员的工作变得更具成效,同时可让他们检视用户消费行为,就企业建立顾客忠诚及制订推广策略提供参考及新的信息。

更多相关文章...数码营销的研究焦点