Feature Stories

30.08.2018

Great Teaching: Making an Impact

Every year, the Kellogg HKUST EMBA class chooses their best professor from amongst the 28 professors at both Kellogg and HKUST who have taught them. In his 14 years of teaching the Program, Professor Milind Rao has been nominated for the “Professor of the Year Award” every year and presented with the privileged title for a record five times! We sit down with Professor Rao to chat about teaching.

Change the conversation

“I try to imagine myself to be one of the students and think about both what I would need to know and how to make it come alive,” said Professor Rao. “The underlying theme of the course (and the KH program) is that there is a framework which can be used to understand real world issues. So, the first part of the course is to develop the framework. The second part is to bring up issues and to use the framework to understand the issues.”

While clarity in presenting the framework is important, it is also important to make it ‘sticky’. Professor Rao explains, stories and examples make the material come alive and mean that students remember the material well after the class is over.

Thus, Professor Rao prepares for the courses meticulously --thinking of new examples and how best to address ongoing macro issues.

“The point of the course is to change the conversation. The course is successful if the students continue discussing the material long after the course is over.”

Know your audience

On a ‘macro’ level, the audience is very demanding. That is both positive and negative. They are very demanding about class materials and presentations, but do not care that much about individual grades which might be different from other audiences.

One of the courses Professor Rao teaches “Global Macroeconomics” is unusual in that it is not immediately applicable—unlike say an accounting or finance course which the students could apply at work on the next Monday morning. But an audience of high-level executives realizes the long term applicability and importance of global macroeconomics for their companies and careers. Because the students are truly cosmopolitan and well read, even those without an economics background are naturally interested in global macro issues.

Having an impact

Many of us (Rao included) were never taught how to handle important financial issues in our lives.

Value Investing (VI) is the one course that does do just that and, thus, has the potential to have a genuine impact on students’ lives. Professor Rao notes. “The VI course introduces students to a philosophy of investing (and indeed in life) that is very powerful.”

“As this is a course that every student can immediately apply in their own lives, I feel an enormous responsibility to ensure that they understand the material. This means thinking very carefully about what to communicate; how to communicate it and spending a good deal of one on one time with students. Despite this expenditure in time and effort, it is one of the most rewarding courses for me to teach precisely because it has genuine impact in their lives.”

“So, ultimately teaching is not about the awards and accolades, but rather about making an impact on students’ lives,” the professor adds.

Good Teaching Vs Great Teaching

The professor says: there is a difference between good teaching and great teaching. Everyone can and should be a good teacher. The students deserve it; and so do the instructors.

What are the attributes of Good Teaching?

Clarity of exposition, and thoughtfulness in deciding what to teach and how to best present the material.

What are the attributes of Great Teaching?

Making the material come alive and ensuring students feel inspired and remember the material going forward.

What is different about the KH Program?

The quality of students and the seriousness of the program office and academic directors in providing a valuable learning experience.

What are the constraints you face when teaching the KH Program?

The biggest constraint in dealing with such high powered executives is the lack of time. And there is so much material, so I need to think very carefully about what is absolutely essential and how best to communicate that effectively.

Am I inspired by the students?

Yes, by their maturity, high EQ and their hard work—even with demanding jobs, they are willing to put in long hours on their homework and presentations.

Does teaching in the KH Program have consequences on your teaching in other programs?

Yes, I am inspired by the KH focus on the quality of the educational experience and I try to bring this emphasis to other programs. Much of the material originally developed for the KH can be used in other programs, and, thus, my MBA students are the unwitting beneficiaries!

How do you share your award-winning experience with peers?

I think HKUST values high caliber teaching. That is the first step in fostering a teaching excellence culture. We can encourage more of our experienced faculty to help guide junior faculty. Indeed, I hope I can play a part in this effort, with a special program I am developing on teaching intended for incoming faculty.

商学院故事

30.08.2018

杰出教学:发挥影响

每年,凯洛格-科大EMBA课程的同学都会从约28位教过他们的教授中,选出一位他们认为最优秀的教授。华勉力敎授(Professor Milind Rao)任教这课程14年,每年都会获提名「杰出教授奖」,当中更创纪录获奖五次!我们且听华敎授娓娓道出教学心得。

改变对话方式

华教授说︰「我会尝试想象自己是其中一名学生,设想自己需要知道甚么,以及如何令这些知识变得生动有趣。」「课程(以及整个凯洛格-科大课程)的基本理念,是利用一个框架去理解现实世界的种种问题。所以课程的第一部分就是要制定框架,第二部分则是带出问题,然后尝试利用所制定的框架了解问题。」

清晰展现框架固然重要,但同样重要的是如何令它更富「吸引力」。华教授解释,故事和例子可以令教材变得生动有趣,确保学生下课后也清楚记住教材内容。

因此,华教授会一丝不苟备课—构思新例子,思考如何应对持续演化的宏观议题。

「课程的重点是要改变对话方式,如果课程完结很久以后,学生仍然继续讨论教材,那么课程就称得上成功了。」

了解受众

在「宏观」层面上,受众要求是非常高的,这可谓好坏参半。他们对课堂教材和简报方式要求很高,但却不太注重成绩,这点有别于其他学生的要求。

华教授执教的其中一个课程「环球宏观经济学」颇为另类,原因是讲授的知识不能实时应用—情况有别于会计或金融课程,学生不能下星期一早上上班时就可学以致用,可是他的受众都是高级行政人员,十分明白环球宏观经济学对他们公司和事业的应用和重要程度,而学生来自世界各地,阅历丰富,所以即使没有相关背景的学生,自然也会对环球宏观议题抱有兴趣。

发挥影响

我们大部分人(包括华教授)从来没有学过如何处理人生的重大财政问题。

「价值投资」正正就是教导学生处理这些问题的课程,所以有可能真正影响学生的生命。华教授指出︰「价值投资课程旨在教导同学一套投资哲学,这种哲学(事实上是投资于人生的哲学)十分厉害。」

「这课程是每名学生都可立即学以致用的,所以我觉得自己责任重大,必须确保他们明白内容。这意味我要仔细想好传达甚么、怎样传达,并且预留充足时间与学生一对一沟通。虽然这样要花上大量时间和精力,但这正是我执教最有意义的课程之一,因为课程内容会对同学生命发挥真正的影响力。」

华教授补充︰「所以,教学最终并不是要赢得奖项或荣誉,而是要影响学生的生命。」

华教授认为良好的教学和杰出的教学并相不同,人人都可以而且应该当一位好老师,这是学生应得的、导师应争取的。

良好的教学有甚么特质?

解释清楚详尽,且细心考虑教学内容和展现教材的方式。

杰出的教学有甚么特质?

令教材变得生动有趣,确保学生获得启发,紧记所学并有所进步。

凯洛格-科大课程有甚么特别?

学生的质素,以及课程办公室和学术主任对提供宝贵学习经验的认真程度。

 

你教授凯洛格-科大EMBA课程时遇到甚么限制?

面对这些高级行政人员,最大的限制是时间不足,偏偏教材却不少,所以我要彻底想清楚有甚么是必需讲授的,以及怎样有效传达内容。

有没有受到学生启发?

有,他们的成熟和高情商给我不少启发。还有他们的努力,即使工作繁重,也愿意在功课和简报上投放很多时间。

教授凯洛格-科大EMBA课程对你其他课程的教学有没有影响?

有,凯洛格-科大EMBA课程令我更注重教学经验的质素,并尝试把这重点带到其他课程上。有很多原本是为凯洛格-科大EMBA课程制定的教材,也可在其他课程中使用,我的工商管理硕士学生是其中一批受惠人士!

你如何与朋辈分享你的获奖经验?

我认为,香港科技大学十分重视优质教学,这是促进优秀教学文化的第一步。我们可以鼓励更多有经验的教师指导初级教师。事实上,我希望自己可以在这方面略尽绵力,所以正着手开展一个以新入职教师为对象的计划。