Feature Stories

30.08.2018

Founders of Excellence

Professor Steven DeKrey brought HKUST and Kellogg together, and their joint EMBA Program became the envy of the world.

Since it was launched in 1998, the striking success of the Kellogg-HKUST EMBA Program has played a key role in establishing the global reputation of, what was then, a fledgling business school. Professor Steven DeKrey, now the School’s Associate Dean, was the EMBA’s Founding Director and a vital initial point of connection between HKUST and Kellogg.

Not only had Professor DeKrey studied at Kellogg, graduating from the class of 1985, he had also stayed on for several years working under the Dean of Kellogg, Professor Don Jacobs, who in later years became a friend and mentor.

In 1995, at an AACSB conference in Chicago, Professor DeKrey was recruited by the then Founding Dean of HKUST Business School, Professor Chan Yuk Shee, to build up the School’s Masters Programs which at that time was only an MBA. “Within six months I was living and working in Hong Kong,” DeKrey recalls.

At the same conference, Professor Chan, a former Kellogg faculty member, also got talking to Dean Jacobs about the two schools collaborating on a non-degree executive education program.

Birth of the EMBA

“I was convinced a joint EMBA degree would be the best choice,” Professor DeKrey notes. "I watched Kellogg start-up partnerships in Israel and Germany. As a very young school, Yuk Shee was worried we did not have the faculty strength yet to handle EMBA students and Dean Jacobs was busy starting the other partnerships so his associate dean tried to convince us to go with executive education first.”

“I saw the need for a high end EMBA degree program to uplift the HKUST reputation and help Kellogg, my alma mater build brand in Asia. Eventually Yuk Shee and Don supported me and with Yuk Shee convincing Woo Chai Wei, HKUST’s Founding President, it was full speed ahead,” Professor Dekrey says. “As the advocate and loyal alum with trust all around, I was given complete freedom by both institutions as founding director to put the program together and make it happen. I remained director for 15 years. After the first two program administrators we found and hired Judy Au. Joining at the end of KH02, Judy has been critical in our reputation rise, knowing how to handle students, building a strong support team and perfecting all operations. I used to privately call Judy our secret weapon, but this was one secret impossible to keep.”

“I really wanted a flagship program which showed the quality was here," Professor DeKrey says. "Don Jacobs and I agreed that any surplus revenue would go towards brand building, as we saw this program primarily as a reputation-enhancer for both schools. Quality was always top of mind with continuous improvement as the strategy. Judy fits right into this and was on board from day one with this strategy.”

However, even with the backing of Kellogg, with its track record, getting the faculty and students together in the beginning was a major challenge.

“After lots of hard work and many one on one discussions we ended up, surprisingly, with a fabulous first class of 33 students" Professor DeKrey says. "It included the president of FedEx Asia Pacific, the treasurer of HSBC, Top Investment bankers, the head of a large US shipping line and a very capable lady running airline cargo. We set a very high bar.”

Professor DeKrey, who had been dean of admissions at Kellogg for six years, and holds a PhD in Psychology, believes this first class sent a great message to the market. He says: “I’m into leadership assessment and development, so our strategy from Day 1, was to pick the best among the top. I was very strict about them having a minimum of ten years of work experience and senior positions. With their resulting high incomes, the FT rankings later confirmed our unique strategy and quality.”

Building on success

The Program was launched before China had really opened up, Professor DeKrey says. “But we were imagining opportunities," he says. "We saw ourselves initially as a supplier of top talent to, basically, the multinationals, the big companies who were moving into Asia.”

Over the years, though, there have also been a number of students engaged in startups. “Four classmates in the very first class formed a company called V Logic, a Hong Kong-based logistics company," Professor DeKrey says. "It still exists.”

Today, each EMBA cohort at HKUST numbers around 50, and Professor DeKrey sees the quality of these students, as well as of the faculty, as a major factor behind the Program’s world-best ranking. “Curriculum evolution is constant here," he says, "and frankly it gets pushed by the market and by our students, who come from multiple industries and ask for new content.”

While HKUST can only offer so many electives, the School’s EMBA students can also take a broad range of courses at Kellogg and the six other partner schools.

“We are now part of a global network that has access way beyond Asia - to Europe, the Middle East, and North America,” Professor DeKrey says.

Global elective courses were first offered 15 years ago, and, today, 200 students from the other schools in the network, visit HKUST annually.

Passing on our expertise

Indicative of the way in which the HKUST Business School has, over the past 27 years, gone from academic new-kid-on-the-block to respected center of teaching and research excellence, is its burgeoning relationship with Skolkovo Moscow School of Management. Founded 12 years ago, Skolkovo came to recognize it needed an established partner to help it develop its programs, faculty and reputation.

“We signed an agreement with Skolkovo in 2016,” Professor DeKrey explains. No longer teaching as much, he now commutes to Moscow for some ten days every month, and has been given the responsibility of Chairman of the Academic Council, the equivalent of HKUST’s Senate but in a smaller scale.

“The first program we’re going to start is an EMBA dual degree based on what we’ve done here at HKUST," Professor DeKrey says. "We’re going to leverage all the knowledge and experience we have from the Kellogg-HKUST Program as well as the HKUST EMBA Program for Chinese Executives.”

"This will be the fifth EMBA program I have had a hand in starting."

Donald P. Jacobs KH Alumni Awards

The late Dean Emeritus Don Jacobs, Kellogg dean for 26 years, was the Founder of the Kellogg EMBA Global Network, a pivotal figure in the establishment of the joint Kellogg-HKUST EMBA Program, and an inspiration to numerous faculty. In honor of his legacy, Professor DeKrey has initiated a fund-raising campaign to establish the Donald P Jacobs KH Alumni Awards, to attract more high-quality candidates from diverse backgrounds to the Program and to memorialize his long term mentor. He is inviting donations from alumni to fund these awards, with KH04 alumnus Ming Mei’s pledge to match all donations up to US$1 million. Meanwhile, the School has named the Kellogg HKUST classroom after Dean Emeritus Don Jacobs in honor of his tremendous contributions to the renowned Program.

商学院故事

30.08.2018

开创先河 成就卓越

戴启思教授(Professor Steven DeKrey)促成了香港科技大学与凯洛格管理学院的合作,两校合办的凯洛格 - 科大EMBA课程举世称羡。

自1998年推出以来,凯洛格 - 科大EMBA课程的成就一直令人鼓舞,对当时刚起步的科大商学院来说,是建立国际声誉的关键。现任科大商学院副院长戴启思教授既是EMBA课程的始创主任,也踏出了科大与凯洛格合作的第一步,意义举足轻重。

戴启思教授不但是凯洛格1985年的毕业生,更与时任凯洛格院长Don Jacobs教授共事数年,Don Jacobs教授后来成了他的良师益友。

1995年,在芝加哥举行的国际管理教育协会(AACSB)会议中,戴启思教授获时任科大商学院创院院长陈玉树教授邀请,为当时只设工商管理硕士课程的商学院开办其他硕士课程。戴教授忆述:「就是这样,六个月后我便到了香港工作和生活。」

在该会议上,曾在凯洛格任教的陈教授,亦与时任院长Don Jacobs商讨由两校合作开办非学位行政人员课程。

EMBA课程的诞生

「观察过凯洛格在以色列及德国成立的伙伴合作关系后,我相信两校合办EMBA学位课程是最明智的选择。」戴启思教授表示:「当时科大是一间非常年轻的学府,陈教授担心我们没有足够的教学实力照顾EMBA学生的需要,而且时任院长Don Jacobs正忙于建立其他伙伴合作关系,所以当时的副院长尝试说服我们先开办高级管理人员课程。」

「要提高科大的知名度,并为我的母校凯洛格在亚洲建立声誉,就必须开办高端的EMBA学位课程。最后,我得到陈教授及Jacobs教授的支持,并且由陈教授说服了科大创校校长吴家玮教授后,开始了如火如荼的筹备工作。」戴启思教授续道:「我十分支持开办该课程,亦对母校深具信心,于是得到两校的信任,能够以倡议者及校友的身份,完全按我的想法去筹办课程。其后15年间,我一直担任课程主任。在头两位课程主管离任后,我们聘用了区敏仪女士继任。她在第二届课程后期加入,贡献良多,不但提升了我们的声誉,亦负责协助处理学生事务,并建立了强大的支持团队,改善了各方面的运作。我曾私下称Judy为我们的『秘密武器』,但这『秘密』早已无人不晓。」

「我真的希望推出一个旗舰课程,以充分展示我们的实力。」戴启思教授说:「Jacobs教授和我都同意将所有盈余用于加强品牌形象,因为这个课程的宗旨就是提高两校的知名度。我们向来以质素为先,不断精益求精。Judy 也一向赞同这方针。」

然而,即使有往绩卓著的凯洛格在背后支持,在课程创办之初要凝聚师生仍是一大挑战。

戴启思教授说:「经过一番努力和单独面谈,我们竟录取了33位人才,成为课程的第一届学生,当中包括联邦快递航空亚太区总裁、汇丰银行财务主管、顶尖投资银行家、美国大型航运公司主席和一位经营空运公司的杰出女主管。我们设下了很高的收生门坎。」

戴启思教授持有心理学博士学位,担任凯洛格招生及入学事务主任已有六年之久。他相信第一届学生对市场的影响非常大。他说:「我重视评估和发展领导才能,所以我们录取的人才均经过精挑细选。我的收生准则非常严格,获录取的学生必须有十年或以上的工作经验,并担任过高层职位。我们的毕业生坐拥高薪,而《金融时报》的排名亦肯定了我们别具一格的教学方针和实力。」

继往开来

戴教授表示,在课程开办之初,中国还未完全开放。「但我们构想出各种机遇,我们当初的宗旨,是为进军亚洲市场的跨国大型企业培育顶尖人才。」

这些年来,亦有不少学生步上创业之路。「四位首届毕业生共同创立了V Logic,是一间位于香港的物流公司,目前仍在运作。」

时至今日,科大每届EMBA学生人数约50人。戴教授认为,学生及教职员的质素是课程全球排名称冠的主因。他说:「我们一直改善课程内容,事实上,这些改变一来是为迎合市场,二来是顺应各行各业学生的要求而推陈出新。」

除了科大提供的各门选修科外,EMBA学生亦可选读凯洛格和其余六间合作院校提供的各项课程。

戴教授说:「我们的合作伙伴遍布全球,由亚洲远至欧洲、中东及北美等地。」

课程在15年前首次推出全球选修科目。时至今日,每年有200位来自全球各地院校的学生到访科大。

传承专业

科大商学院在27年间,由一间新成立的院校,发展成声誉卓著的研究学府,由其迅速与全球其他学府发展合作关系可见一斑,例如近年与莫斯科斯科尔科沃管理学院(SKOLKOVO Moscow School of Management)建立的关系。斯科尔科沃管理学院在12年前建立,需藉其他知名学府的协助,发展其课程、规模及声誉。

戴教授表示:「我们在2016年与斯科尔科沃管理学院签订了合作协议。」随着教学工作减少,他出任了该校的教务委员会主席,每月大约有十天会到莫斯科公干。该委员会相当于科大的教务委员会,但规模较小。

「我们根据当年在科大的做法,准备在这里开办第一个EMBA双学位课程。」戴教授说:「我们会参考之前筹办凯洛格-科大课程和香港科技大学EMBA中英双语课程的知识和经验。这将会成为我在科大参与创办的第五个EMBA课程。」

Donald P. Jacobs凯洛格-科大校友奖

已故荣誉退休院长Don Jacobs曾于凯洛格管理学院任职院长26年,除了创立凯洛格EMBA全球网络及凯洛格-科大EMBA课程的主要一员外,更启发了无数院校。为表致敬,戴启思教授举行了筹款活动,成立「Donald P. Jacobs凯洛格 -科大校友奖」,以吸引更多来自不同背景的优秀学生报读该课程,并纪念多年恩师。他正邀请各方校友资助这些奖项,并获第四届凯洛格-科大EMBA课程毕业生梅志明先生承诺配对最高一百万美元的捐款额。此外,科大商学院将凯洛格 -科大教室命名为「Donald P. Jacobs 教室」,以表扬他对扬名国际的凯洛格-科大EMBA课程的重大贡献。