Feature Stories

24.05.2019

Adapting to a Changing World

Dr LAW Chi Kwong is Hong Kong’s Secretary for Labour and Welfare. In addition to being head of the bureau, he oversees public policy on manpower planning, vocational training and retraining. Given that the local workforce has proven to be flexible and adaptable in the past, Dr Law hopes, that with the necessary support, this will also hold true in a digital future.

“While we need to make our economic structure more flexible, we also need to diversify our economy.” Dr Law Chi Kwong

From 1981 and 2017, Dr Law taught in the Department of Social Work and Social Administration at the University of Hong Kong. Before taking up his current governmental role two years ago, he also held senior positions in a number of public bodies promoting social services.

This breadth of experience gives him an understanding of the effects economic transformation may have on those without the wealth or the technical skills to easily navigate an uncertain future. Looking back at Hong Kong’s experience in the 1980s, he sees some grounds for optimism, as well as some warnings about what pitfalls to be avoided when it comes to the process of adjustment and adaptation that the city is likely to soon require.

Lessons from the past
In the 1970s, more than one million Hongkongers, approximately 40 per cent of the workforce, were employed in the manufacturing sector. When local businesses began to take advantage of China’s new policy of openness and relocated their factories across the border to the Mainland, many of the city’s displaced workers gradually moved into the service and retail sector.

“However, because of the oversupply of labor, these workers did not subsequently enjoy much in the way of a salary increase,” Dr Law points out. Their income and standard of living did not significantly improve for roughly two decades, despite the continued growth of the Hong Kong economy. “This is a lesson we should learn from,” he notes.

Dr Law also sees Hong Kong’s economic base as still being too narrow. “While we need to make our economic structure more flexible, we also need to diversify our economy.”

Training and retraining

One of the key recommendations in the HKUST-APRU report (Transformation of Work in the Asia-Pacific in the 21st Century) focused on the need to ‘develop reskilling and reform capacities to support the displaced workforce’.

Dr Law pointed out that Hong Kong is already taking significant steps in this direction. Over half of those signing up for courses via the Employees Retraining Board are aged over 50, he notes. “And we see a growing number of middle-aged people begin post-graduate degree programs, when they realize they need to acquire new skills.”

He says that the government is actively seeking to support individual choice when it comes to life-long learning and continuing education opportunities. “For example, the government has revamped its Continuing Education Fund (CEF). Coming into effect from April 1, 2019, the CEF subsidy ceiling has been increased from HK$10,000 to HK$20,000 per applicant, the upper age limit for applicants has been raised from 65 to 70, and other restrictions have been lifted.”

But, he says, private companies can also play a key role by providing the sort of training which enables their employees to develop the skills required to make use of emerging technologies, such as blockchain. However, Dr Law points out, 98 per cent of companies in Hong Kong are SMEs. “They employ less than 50 employees and they are less willing to offer training to their staff. They don’t have many incentives to train them, partly due to the high employee turnover rate in Hong Kong.”

Furthermore, it is difficult for the government to incentivize a company to shift from one industry to another if their original business model has become unsustainable because of developments in technology. “Therefore, I think it’s better to retrain the displaced workers and make them more flexible.”

How the future may pan out

“Even with advances in technology, I’m not so worried about a sudden, big drop in the number of jobs in Hong Kong, especially since we are now heavily reliant on the service industry,” states Dr Law. “It’s a matter of how people adjust and adapt.”

By way of example he points out that every industry needs managers, and many management skills are transferable across industries. “As long as the nature of the new industry is not so different, people can adjust and adapt.”

What’s more, Dr Law believes technology will, ultimately, create more jobs than it replaces. He sees new forms of technology-enabled services, markets and platforms, creating forms of employment that we can’t currently imagine, and he predicts that there will be increased demand for art and culture, as the human spirit will always seek a more elevated form of satisfaction.

While he accepts that digitization and automation will revolutionize many industries, Dr Law believes not all consumers will be keen to change their established patterns of behavior. “Don’t forgot, most developed economies have an aging population. Their adjustment to technology will be relatively slow.” With a considerable number of Hongkongers aged over 65, many of them are still using fixed telephone lines. And thus, he doesn’t see traditional banking disappearing overnight. “Virtual banking will serve a new group of under-banked customers,” he suggests.  

When formulating a strategy to prepare its workforce for the future, Hong Kong has to take all its political, economic, societal, geographical realities into consideration, Dr Law believes. Hong Kong’s location within the Greater Bay Area is one geographical reality that he sees working very much in the city’s favor.

“The bigger market will provide room for labor mobility. This will, at least, partly address income inequality, as displaced workers in one city may be able to find a suitable job elsewhere in the region. Some skills no longer needed in Hong Kong could prove to be useful in other cities.”

Dr Law Chi Kwong

  • Secretary for Labour and Welfare of the HKSAR Government
  • Chairman of the Community Care Fund Task Force
  • Former Head of the Department of Social Work of the University of Hong Kong
  • Former Legislative Council Member

商学院故事

24.05.2019

适应万变的世界

现任香港劳工及褔利局局长罗致光博士,肩负香港人力资源规划、职业培训及再培训等公共政策重任。过往本港劳动人口灵活多变且适应力强,罗博士希望在政府的支持下,香港劳动力在往后数码年代仍能保持优势

「当我们期望本港的经济结构更加灵活时,我们亦需要朝着经济多元化的目标发展。」

罗致光于1981年至2017年间在香港大学社会工作及社会行政学系任教。他加入政府约两年,之前亦曾担任多项公职,积极推动社会事务。

他的丰富阅历,使他可知往鉴今。就着经济转型可能会令低收入人士或非技术人员难以应付未来的挑战,生计受影响,回顾香港在80年代经历转型的经验,他相信本港将面对一段适应期,当中虽暗藏危机,但只要懂得提防,前景仍见乐观。

汲取教训

70年代期间,逾一百万名港人从事制造业,约占整体工作人口约四成。本地企业乘着中国实施改革开放后将工厂迁往内地,不少失业工人则逐渐转至服务及零售业工作。

罗致光指出:「然而,由于劳动人口过剩,这些工人多数难享大幅加薪。虽然本港经济持续增长,他们的收入与生活质素于过去二十年间没有很大改善。我们应从中汲取教训。」

同时,他认为本港的经济基础太过狭窄。「当我们期望本港的经济结构更加灵活时,我们亦需要朝着经济多元化的目标发展。」

培训与再培训

根据科大与环太平洋大学协会合作的《21世纪亚太地区工作转型》报告,其中一项主要建议为「支持工作有机会被取代的人重新发展技能及提升能力」。

罗致光指出,本港一向朝这方向做了不少功夫。他说,逾半数报读雇员再培训局课程的人士均超过50岁。「我们亦看见愈来愈多中年人士意识到有学习新技能的需要,遂开始修读深造学位课程。」

他称,政府积极鼓励市民终身学习和把握持续进修的机会。「例如,政府已增拨资源,优化持续进修基金。自2019年4月1日起,每名申请人的持续进修基金津贴金额上限已由10,000港元提高至20,000港元,申请人的年龄上限则由65岁提高至70岁,同时亦取消了一些以往的限制。」

罗致光指出,私人公司在人才培训方面亦扮演重要角色,令其雇员可以更迅速掌握新兴技术,例如区块链等。然而,他指98%的本地公司均属中小企。「这类公司雇用少于50名员工,且一般不太热衷为员工提供培训,缺乏培训员工的意欲,部分原因是本地员工的流失率高。」

如果一间公司本身的业务模式因科技发展而未能持续发展,政府亦难以推动这类公司由某一行业「转营」至另一行业。「因此我认为应该为需要转业的工人作出再培训,使他们求职上更加灵活。」

如何缔造美好将来

罗致光指出说:「即使科技进步,我们现时的经济仍主要依赖服务业,所以我不担心本港的就业人数会突然大幅下跌。这只是市民如何调整和适应的问题。」

他举例,各行各业需要管理人才,而许多管理技巧通用于不同行业。「只要新兴行业的性质差异不大,市民仍有机会调整和适应。」

不只如此,罗致光相信,科技最终会创造而非淘汰就业机会。他认为,时下的人无法想象新科技、新市场及新平台所创造的就业模式。他进一步预测,艺术及文化就业需求将会上升,理由是人类始终需要在精神层面上追求更大的满足感。

尽管罗致光承认数码化及自动化会促使大多数行业需要革新,他仍然相信,并非所有消费者会愿意改变他们的行为习惯。「请不要忘记,大部分经济发达国家正面临人口老化问题。老化人口需要适应科技的步伐会较慢。」有见于不少年过65岁的港人仍然只使用固网电话,他相信即使有虚拟银行,传统银行不会在一夜间消失。「虚拟银行将会为未有在传统银行开户的新客群提供服务。」他称。

罗致光相信,本港在制定政策装备未来的劳动人口时,需要考虑政治、经济、社会,以及地理方面的现实因素。他认为,本港位处大湾区,地理占优,事实上相当有利于本地发展。

「市场扩大将可令劳动人口更流动。即使某一城市的工人失业,他们仍可在区内各地寻找机会,应征合适的工作。这至少可以纾缓部分收入不均问题。一些本港不再需要的技能仍于其他城市有用武之地。」

罗致光博士

  • 香港特别行政区劳工及褔利局局长
  • 关爱基金专责小组主席
  • 前香港大学社会工作系系主任
  • 前立法会议员