Feature Stories

24.05.2019

A Future that Works for the Asia Pacific

With economies around the globe facing increasing digital disruption, earlier this year the Business School hosted the launch for the “Transformation of Work in Asia-Pacific” report. The report is the result of a collaboration between HKUST and a team of academics from the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU).

Automation, Artificial Intelligence (AI), Big Data, among others, trigger fear internationally as threats to the livelihood of the 21st Century workforce. Though we might predict the pace of technological development seeing AI mimicking an increasing range of human cognitive abilities, there is no conclusive evidence that point to shrinking levels of employment, as Professor TAM Kar Yan, Dean of HKUST Business School, reminds us. “One says, there are always new jobs created, so sit back and don’t worry,” Professor Tam noted, “an Institute of the Future study that predicted 85 percent of the jobs that will exist in 2030 have not yet been invented.”

International surveys have found there is, overall, more public concern than optimism regarding the impact of technology on jobs. “For some professions, the chances of being replaced by a machine are very low, especially those that require empathy or an emotional connection with another human being. Elementary and secondary school teachers fall into this category. But the situation we may have to confront is one in which there is a displacement of those in the workforce who are engaged in repetitive physical and cognitive tasks,” said Professor Tam at a launch on March 11 for a new report entitled Transformation of Work in the Asia-Pacific in the 21st Century: Key Policy Implications.

On the other hand, it is likely there will be a shortage of talent with the skills needed for the new jobs that will be created. Such a skills gap has already developed in Hong Kong in the fields of data analytics, cybersecurity and FinTech, Professor Tam pointed out.

Constant Change

Changes in the future of work are already happening, and we can expect the exponential growth, standardization, and adoption of IT will continue worldwide.  These IT changes will lead to changes in lifestyle of the working population and will continue to shape the social and cultural landscape of Asia-Pacific economies and new set of cultural and societal values in relation to work will emerge.

Leaders in the region must promote STEAM (Science, technology, engineering, the arts, and mathematics) education in primary and secondary schools to encourage the development of 21st century skills. “Second, universities such as HKUST should encourage a more interdisciplinary approach to education and bring more real-life cases and problems into the classroom,” Professor Tam said.

Shift in Skills

We must confront the dangers ahead, however, a skill-shift in the labor market will lead to income disparity between workers with high and low skill levels. The impact of automation will vary across industries.

Professor Tam said it had to be acknowledged that the younger generation tends to be more tech-savvy and that Hong Kong has an aging population. “So we need to retrain the displaced workers and find a way to sustain lifelong learning opportunities.”

Businesses, small enterprises in particular, that lack the talent and financial resources to adapt to new technologies will be vulnerable in the process of digital transformation. They may be driven out of the market which will result in unemployment and a less diverse and innovative economy. Manufacturing is a major sector of many Asia Pacific economies. Its transition from a labor-intensive to a technology-driven base can be better facilitated by strengthening the technology sector.

Collaboration Reflecting Asia Pacific Capacities

“APRU is an organization consisting of 50 leading research universities, including HKUST,” said its Secretary General, Dr Christopher TREMEWAN. “With this research, we hope to stimulate discussions among leaders in government and industry to collaborate on solutions to the challenges in the future of work. “We cannot capture the richness of our region without insight from our experts in diverse economic contexts to uncover the opportunities that are accessible to all.”

“What we wanted to do was to look at how this issue affects our region and not only look at the risks and uncertainties, but also start exploring what opportunities automation and AI could provide for the future of work,” said Ms Christina SCHÖNLEBER, APRU’s Director (Policy and Programs). Composed by ten academics representing APRU member universities and a partnering institute across the Asia-Pacific region, including Australia, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, the Philippines, and Singapore, the report draws attention to specific issues and their resolutions, and at the same time, complement each other’s research to offer a richly holistic view on this important topic.

Looking Ahead

Dr Tremewan noted that this report is part of a series, of which a number of questions still need to be answered in the field of public policy. One of APRU’s key goals is to ensure that the benefits of AI reach those in need, not just to those that can afford it. “Is there some way to incentivize companies to retain and retrain those workers rather than just getting rid of them?” he posed. “And can universities help ensure that the benefits of AI are distributed more equitably?”                         

Ms Schönleber encouraged governments and universities to review their policies on life-long learning. “This is very relevant for the future of work in terms of innovation and technology development,” she pointed out. She explained that the plan was to now disseminate the report’s findings and move the discourse forward. “We will present this at APEC meetings and we will take it to this year’s APEC Leaders meeting in Santiago, Chile.”

Policy Recommendations to Leaders of Higher Education, Government and Industry

  1. Cultivating an innovative workforce through STEM education and investment in teachers
  2. Developing reskilling and reform capacities to support the displaced workforce
  3. Meeting the skills demand through workforce mobility and immigration policy
  4. Addressing the increasing income inequality through social welfare programs
  5. Investing in the technology, innovation, and entrepreneurship infrastructure to provide agility in the market
To read the report on: http://www.bm.ust.hk/en-us/media-resources/overview/publications/reports

商学院故事

24.05.2019

亚太区可行的未来职场

随着数码变革,环球经济面对极大转变,今年年初科大商学院发表了一份《亚太地区工作转型》的报告,此研究成果源于科大与环太平洋大学协会 (APRU) 学者团队的一项跨国合作计划。

自动化、人工智能、大数据等发展引起21世纪全球劳动人口的关注和担忧,科大商学院院长谭嘉因教授提醒大家,即使预料科技发展的步伐将进一步促使人工智能更广泛地模仿人类的认知能力,但没有明确证据显示就业机会会因此减少。「始终新的工种会出现,所以不必过份担心。」谭教授说:「根据Institute of the Future的一项研究估计,2030年的职位当中有85%目前尚未出现。」

根据国际研究调查,大众认为科技对就业的影响整体而言是忧多于喜。谭教授于3月11日在新报告《21世纪亚太地区工作转型:重点政策影响》的媒体发布会上表示:「始终某些职位被机器取代的可能性相当低,尤其是需要同理心或与人接触的职位。中小学教师正属于这范畴,但从事重复体力或认知工作的人,他们的工作被取代的机会则相对较大。」

另一方面,将来可能会缺乏新职位所需的人才和技能。谭教授指,数据分析、网络安全及金融科技等领域在香港已出现人才短缺的情况。

日新月异

未来工作转变的新趋势已呈现,我们可预期信息科技急速发展,标准规格化及科技的应用会持续在全球发生。信息科技的种种变化将改变工作人口的生活模式,并继续影响亚太区经济的社会和文化面貌,新的工作文化及社会价值观亦会出现。

亚太区领袖必须推动中小学的科学、科技、工程、艺术及数学 (STEAM) 教育,以促进21世纪的技能培养。谭教授说:「此外,科大等学府应推动跨学科学习,将真实生活个案及问题带入课堂。」

技能转移

然而,我们必须面对当前的危机,自动化带来的影响因行业而异,例如劳工市场的技能转移会导致高技术工人与低技术工人的收入出现落差。

谭教授表示,我们必须明白,年轻一代通常较能掌握科技,而同时香港人口正逐步老化。「因此,我们需要再培训失业人士,鼓励他们积把握终身学习的机会。」

缺乏人才和资金采纳新科技的企业(尤其是小型企业),在数码转型的过程中将处于弱势。他们很可能被市场淘汰,导致员工失业,令经济欠缺多元创新的动力。许多亚太经济体以制造业为主,加强科技层面的发展,有助从劳动力密集的经济体过渡至以科技主导的经济体。

携手合作   彰显亚太实力

环太平洋大学协会秘书长Christopher Tremewan博士表示:「环太平洋大学协会是一个汇集50所顶尖研究型大学(包括科大)的组织。透过这项研究,我们希望促进政府及业界领袖之间的讨论,合力找出解决方法,以应对未来工作的挑战。我们需各经济范畴的专家分享见解,为所有人发掘机会,方能体现亚太区的优势。」

环太平洋大学协会总监(政策及项目)Christina Schönleber女士说:「我们希望研究此议题对亚太区的影响不仅着重于风险及不确定因素,更要探讨自动化及人工智能为未来工作带来的机遇。」参与这份报告的学者来自环太平洋大学协会及其合作机构共七间学术单位,他们代表亚太区(包括澳洲、香港、日本、韩国、菲律宾及新加坡)不同的观点与角度,然而其相辅相成的研究针对特定议题及方案,为此重要的议题提供全面分析。

展望未来

Tremewan博士表示,这份报告是整个系列研究的一部分,在公共政策方面仍有许多问题尚待解决。环太平洋大学协会其中一个重要目标是确保需要人工智能的人获得裨益,而不是只有负担能力的人受惠。他提出:「有方法鼓励公司挽留及再培训员工而不直接解聘吗?大学是否能确保人工智能的益处能够公平地分配?」                            

Schönleber女士鼓励政府及大学一起检阅终身学习的政策。她称:「在创新及科技发展方面,终身学习与未来的工作高度相关。」她提及目前正在向外宣传此研究报告的结果,促进各界对话与交流。「我们将在亚太经济合作会议当中,以及今年参与智利圣地亚哥亚太经合组织会议的领导人,介绍这份报告的内容及成果。」

向高等教育机构、政府单位和各行业领导者的政策建议

  • 透过科学、科技、工程及数学(STEM)教育和教师培训,培养创新型劳动力
  • 针对有机会被取代工作的劳动力,提供重新发展技能及提升能力
  • 通过机动型劳动力(workforce mobility)和移民政策满足技能需求
  • 善用社会褔利解决日益扩大的收入不均问题
  • 投资科技、创新及创业的基础设施,提升市场的反应能力
阅读该报告: http://www.bm.ust.hk/en-us/media-resources/overview/publications/reports