Feature Stories

17.10.2017

Answering Business Challenges through Technological Innovations

The Grand Final winner receives the prize presented by Professor Shyy Wei, Executive Vice-President and Provost of HKUST

As information becomes increasingly strategic for organizations, ensuring the long-term success of an enterprise requires not just pure business knowledge or technology skills, but a combination of both. Future game changers will be those who reimagine ways to transform their business while offering differentiated customer experiences by making creative use of emerging technologies.

No wonder, of all the participants in the Hong Kong chapter of the seventh annual “One Million Dollar Entrepreneurship Competition” organized by HKUST, one-fifth are existing business school students.

Originally an initiative to nurture entrepreneurs at HKUST, the competition has grown into a regional contest to cultivate entrepreneurial spirit and promote the cross-border exchange of ideas. It was first extended to Beijing, Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Macau last year. This year has seen not only an increase in scale, with over 900 participating teams comprising students, startups and professionals from the region, but also an enhanced quality of submitted proposals and depth of market traction.

Eighteen winning teams from five regions competed in the Grand Final at the HKUST Fok Ying Tung Research Institute in Nansha, Guangzhou, in mid-August. Each presentation was followed by a 60-second elevator pitch which demonstrated the teams’ remarkable talent and captured the hearts of the audience. The “Industrial Visual Intelligence System” team eventually took the first place, winning a cash prize of HK$500,000 by producing a groundbreaking visual control solution to enhance visual perception and decision-making in industrial robots.

Winners of the competition can use the cash prize as seed money to further commercialise their inventions, turning ideas into a manufacturable and marketable form.

When business meets technology

This year’s competition attracted hundreds of entrepreneurial projects covering a wide spectrum of arenas including internet technologies, artificial intelligence, biomedicine, education and environmental protection and business model innovation. Business technology has become a dominant topic, with an increasing number of business students joining the competition. Of the 266 participants in Hong Kong, 53 were business school students. Some of them formed teams with students from other schools to capitalize on skills across different fields.

Of all the business technology ideas raised in the competition, Clare.AI’s “White-label Chatbot” stood out from others. It won first runner-up in the Hong Kong competition, followed by a merit prize in the Grand Final. “Based on natural language processing, our robot system helps banking and financial institutes handle client enquiries through online chat-box communication,” says Bianca Ho, Co-founder of Clare.AI.

A graduate in Global Business (GBUS) from the HKUST Business School in 2011, Ho founded Clare.AI last year with Ken Yeung who received a computer science degree from HKUST in 2005. “Innovation happens when you mix technology and business,” Ho says, recalling how she partnered with Yeung to bridge the two worlds and put artificial intelligence into business applications.

“Advance in business technology provides more powerful and less expensive options to keep companies ahead in a competitive marketplace,” says Ho. “Boring, repetitive tasks are automated by machine, enabling companies to reduce employee turnover and increase talent retention. Machine-based operation also boosts the transparency of client behaviour, enabling companies to track non-complaint cases and identify customer preferences and market trends through statistical analytics.”

Ho also describes the competition as an integrative learning platform generating extraordinary business values. “The adjudication panel was composed of real investors who shared lots of valuable opinions and feedback with us. Apart from receiving a cash prize, we also got the opportunity to talk to potential investors about the long-term development of Clare.AI. It is such a rewarding experience,” adds Ho.

Caring about the greater good

Equally exciting and inspirational was the competition’s Beijing region final. Held on 2 July, and hosted by the HKUST Business School mainland office, with strong support from the HKUST EMBA North China Alumni Association and “170 Start-up”, the competition attracted numerous innovative projects of immense potential. The first prize went to Flance NanoTechnology who have produced an innovative high-purity nanomaterial preparation and industrial application. The team also won the ticket to the Grand Final, where they notched the third prize.

According to Cui Jianxun, CEO of Flance NanoTechnology, the company has developed the world’s first nanomachine entering industry grade stable and mass production, which has to date obtained 18 national patents. The machine can produce a thousand types of high-precision, high-purity and cost-effective metal nanomaterials. More importantly, the production process achieves zero pollution and over 95 per cent of resource utilization.

“It’s a great competition organized by the HKUST,” says Cui. “Hopefully, I will have a chance to study for an Executive MBA at the university in the near future.”

The great thing about the One Million Dollar Entrepreneurship Competition is that it not only provides a platform for creative and committed entrepreneurs to realize their business ambitions and dreams, but also encourages a culture of corporate social responsibility and innovation, something which distinguishes a leader from a follower.

According to Ms Gao Jing, President of HKUST EMBA North China Alumni Association and Director of 170 Startup, the competition has provided a very good platform for creative entrepreneurs worldwide to realize their business dreams.

The best way to predict the future is to invent it. Going well beyond what other competitions offer, HKUST’s One Million Dollar Entrepreneurship Competition brings forth a mission to answer business challenges through technological innovations, paving the way for a better future for mankind.

(Hong Kong Finalist): Bianca Ho, Co-founder of Clare.AI
(Beijing Finalist): Cui Jianxun, CEO of Flance NanoTechnology
Beijing Final receives strong support from the HKUST EMBA North China Alumni Association

商學院故事

17.10.2017

活用創新科技 應對營商挑戰

科大首席副校長史維教授頒獎予總決賽一等獎得主

隨著商業機構日益講求資訊策略,企業要長保成功,營商智慧和善用科技的能力皆缺一不可。企業若求打破格局,更應另闢蹊徑,活用新興科技將業務轉型,創造與別不同的客戶體驗。

香港科技大學「百萬獎金創業大賽」為學生造就這個機會,比賽今年已踏入第七屆。商學院學生多年來一直踴躍參與,今年的香港賽區便有超過兩成參賽者來自商學院。

比賽起初旨在培養科大創業家,後來漸發展成地區賽事,以發揚創業精神、鼓勵兩地人才交流創業心得和理念。自去年起,賽區已延伸至北京、廣州、深圳、澳門;今年參賽隊伍增至900多隊,包括學生、初創公司和區內專才,規模更盛之餘,參賽項目的水準猶勝去年,也更迎合市場需求。

決賽八月中於廣州南沙的科大霍英東研究院舉行,由五個賽區的18支隊伍角逐總冠軍。每隊在介紹參賽作品後均獲安排進行「60秒演講環節」,爭取觀眾支持。「工業視覺智能系統」團隊研發出創新的視覺控制方案,提升工業機械人的視覺感知和自主判斷能力,榮獲冠軍,贏得50萬港元現金獎。

各得獎隊伍可將獎金用作種子基金,將研發成果製成商品,有機會令意念付諸實行,投產面市。

營商智慧與科技結合

今年有數百個創業項目參賽,涉獵資訊科技、人工智能、生物醫藥、教育、環保、創意商業項目等。比賽吸引不少商學院同學參賽,希望有機會學以致用,把商業與科技結合。例如在266名香港參賽者中,便有53人為商學院學生,當中亦有同學與其他學院學生合組隊伍參賽,各展所長。

在眾多結合商業與科技元素的項目中,Clare.AI的「代客訂製客戶服務助理智能系統」脫穎而出,獲香港賽區亞軍,並在決賽勇奪優勝獎。Clare.AI創辦人之一何思穎指:「我們的智能助理系統運用自然語言處理技術,可透過網上聊天室形式,為銀行及金融機構代答客戶查詢。」

何思穎為科大商學院2011年畢業生,主修環球商業管理(GBUS),去年夥拍2005年同在科大畢業、主修電腦的楊志光創辦Clare.AI。何思穎憶述與楊志光合作,將人工智能融入商業程式:「當考慮需要把營商與科技結合時,我們便有這嶄新意念。」

何思穎說:「商業科技進步,帶來更先進、更相宜的選擇,讓公司在競爭激烈的市場中與時並進。公司可將刻板重複的工序交由電腦處理,減少人手流失,有助挽留人才。在電腦程式的協助下,客戶行為一覽無遺,以便公司跟進個別客戶,透過分析統計數據,瞭解客戶喜好和市場趨勢。」

何思穎形容「百萬獎金創業大賽」除提供一個綜合式的學習平台外,更提供與商界接觸的良機。「評審團成員都是真正的投資者,給予參賽者不少寶貴意見,擴闊了我們的營商視野。我們獲得現金獎之餘,亦有機會向有意投資者介紹Clare.AI的長遠發展路向,獲益良多。」

社會為本

北京賽區的決賽於7月2日舉行,由科大商學院內地辦事處主辦,並獲科大EMBA華北校友會和「170創業營」協辦,多個參賽項目極具創意、潛力無限,賽事精彩之處不遑多讓。復朗施納米科技公司的「高純度新型納米材料制備與產業應用」榮獲大獎,並在總決賽中贏得季軍。

復朗施納米科技公司行政總裁崔建勳指,其公司開發出全球首個達到工業級穩定量產水準的納米機器,目前已獲18項國家專利,可製造上千種高準繩、高純度、符合成本效益的金屬納米材料。製造過程更不會造成任何污染,且資源使用率達95%。

崔建勳指:「科大舉辦的比賽甚具價值,我希望不久有機會能入讀科大的EMBA課程。」

「百萬獎金創業大賽」的魅力不但在於為一群有志創業的創意之士提供了實現理想的平台,亦推廣了企業社會責任和創新風氣,提倡「先導者」之精神。

香港科大EMBA校友會華北會長兼170創業營董事高靜女士表示,大賽發掘了許多非常好的創新創業項目,為全球有志創業人士提供成就夢想的平台。

預測未來之道,在於開創未來。科大的「百萬獎金創業大賽」比同儕多走一步,致力以創新科技應對營商挑戰,為人類未來奠定美好根基。

香港賽區代表:Clare.AI創辦人之一何思穎(左一)
北京賽區代表:復朗施納米科技公司行政總裁崔建勳
北京賽區獲科大EMBA華北校友會大力支持