Feature Stories

18.10.2017

The Outward-looking Family Philanthropy

Since Mr Sukanto Tanoto founded RGE in Indonesia in 1973, the business has grown into an international resource-based group of companies with assets exceeding US$18 billion and a workforce of over 60,000. Alongside the development of the business, Mr Tanoto has been very keen that he, and the members of his family, actively give something back - both to the communities his companies operate in and to the wider society.

Many successful family businesses have established foundations with goals to solve social issues. Beyond the obvious valuable impact the work of these bodies can have on individuals and communities, they also offer a way to embody a family’s values and serve as a unifying project that will engage family members who may be less active in the business.

Mr Sukanto Tanoto established his first company in 1967, serving as a supplier and contractor to the Indonesian oil industry. Six years later he founded RGE as a plywood business, and since then he and his family have developed it into a global, resource-based group of companies with manufacturing operations in China, Indonesia and Brazil, and sales offices worldwide. The business has five key operational areas: pulp and paper, palm oil, specialty cellulose, viscose fiber and energy.

“Our family’s philanthropy work began in 1981, in Indonesia, to provide quality education to employees’ children in our areas of operation,” Mr Tanoto explains. “Education as a cause is particularly close to the hearts of my wife and I because we did not get to complete our formal education when we were young.”

Though they were later able to study independently, this experience sharpened Sukanto and Tinah Bingei Tanoto’s appreciation of the value of learning. “Every child should have the opportunity to get quality education, and with that, realize his or her full potential,” Mr Tanoto says. “This belief is at the heart of our passion for education.”

As the business has grown, so has the scope of the family’s philanthropic and community development work. Mr and Mrs Tanoto officially established the Tanoto Foundation in Singapore in 2001, and the reach of its activities now stretches to mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore and the US. Its donations also support the work of HKUST’s Tanoto Center for Asian Family Business and Entrepreneurship Studies.

Alleviating poverty through 3Es

“Our focus is on alleviating poverty through the 3Es – education, enhancement and empowerment,” says Mr Tanoto.

The Foundation’s numerous educational initiatives include the funding of teaching training and the provision of over 700 scholarships a year. “We believe that education can help one break out of poverty and improve lives, and we want to create new opportunities for young people to be able to do so,” Mr Tanoto explains.

In the area of enhancement, the Foundation helps deliver basic amenities such as clean water and sanitation, as well as healthcare. Meanwhile, through the provision of access to productive assets, startup capital, technical skills, and links to markets, it also helps empower families to develop sustainable livelihoods.

The Foundation and the family

The work of the Foundation has become not only an expression of Mr and Mrs Tanoto’s personal concerns and interests but also those of younger family members.

“My children are busy in the business but also allocate a reasonable amount of time for philanthropic work. My daughter is driving the Foundation, and my younger son also participates. Professional managers run the Foundation, with family members and external advisors sitting on the board,” Mr Tanoto explains.

Mr Tanoto points to gratitude as one of his family’s key values. An appreciation of the importance of sharing with those less fortunate was inculcated into his children at an early age, a process that included visits to orphanages on their birthdays.

Now they’re grown up, he sees them bringing a new vision and awareness to the Foundation’s work. “The next generation takes the lead in identifying areas of societal need and impact that are aligned with the family’s goals, beliefs and passions.”

Through philanthropy, family members also find ways to work for a shared goal outside of the business. “When we make business decisions, we are different. But when we as a family do philanthropy, we are united together.”

The process also helps nurture collective decision making of the next generation, in Mr Tanoto’s view. “The problem is not to compromise, but how my children can dynamically make optimal decisions.”

The rigor exercised in RGE’s business dealings is also brought to bear on the family’s philanthropic activities, with no more than 10 per cent of the Foundation’s funding permitted to be spent on admin and supervision costs. Despite this rule, the foundation does not shy away from capacity building in its 3E initiatives.

“It is also very important to measure the impact that our philanthropy has on the community around us,” Mr Tanoto adds.

The foundation has hired international consultants to research and help implement new education initiatives, and second-generation members have visited some of the most prestigious foundations in the US to benchmark their work and study best practice. They are thinking of ways to maximize the social impact.

The 5Cs of the Tanoto business philosophy

“Anything we do must be good for the community, country, and only then will it be good for the company,” Mr Tanoto explains. “And my second generation bring in two new dimensions here, climate and customer, and we turn from 3Cs to 5Cs.”

Given the scale of its activities, the business has a major impact on the communities in which it operates, and these communities must benefit from RGE’s presence, he says. “We have a very simple model: we want to be a part of the community, not a guest of the community.”

Mr Tanoto adds that RGE also feels a great responsibility to run an environmentally sustainable operation. “Globally, we are planting one million trees every day – day in, day out. We’re mapping out our carbon footprint and looking for any way we can to reduce it.”

“When you’re talking about succession, or sustainability, in a family business, it’s a question of continuity. As a family business, you have patient capital and can take a very long-term view.”

Sukanto and Tinah Bingei Tanoto's philanthropic work began in 1981 in Indonesia with the opening of a kindergarten in Besitang

商學院故事

18.10.2017

高瞻遠矚的家族慈善事業

陳江和先生於1973年在印尼成立金鷹集團,集團發展至今已成為一家多元化的跨國管理公司,旗下擁有多家以發展資源為主的企業,資產值超過180億美元,員工人數逾60,000名。陳江和先生在拓展業務之餘,也與家人熱心推動慈善事業,積極回饋業務所在的社區及廣大社群。

不少經營有道的家族企業也設立慈善基金,冀能協助解決各種社會問題。這些基金或組織的工作不但為有需要的人士及社群帶來顯著裨益,同時亦充分體現整個家族的價值觀,凝聚各家族成員,讓較少涉足家族生意的成員亦可參與其中。

陳江和先生於1967年成立首家公司,成為印尼石油業的供應商兼承包商。六年後,他又創立金鷹集團,從事夾板業務。此後,他與家人將生意發展成擁有多家資源企業的跨國集團,在中國、印尼及巴西均設有生產線,經銷辦事處遍佈全球,業務涵蓋紙漿及造紙、棕櫚油、特種纖維素及纖維素纖維、能源等四大經營領域。

陳江和先生解釋道:「我們的家族慈善事業始於1981年,最初是在印尼為業務經營地區的僱員子女提供優質教育。我和太太遺憾年輕時未有機會完成正規教育,因此,教育事業是我們心之所繫。」

雖然陳江和與夫人黃瑞娥最終都能以自修方式學習,但失學經歷使他們更加體會到學習機會是何等寶貴。陳江和先生說:「每個兒童都應該有機會接受優質教育,藉此發揮潛能,盡展所長。這股信念正是我們熱心推動教育的動力來源。」

隨著業務不斷發展,陳氏家族的慈善事業也日益擴大,社區發展工作的覆蓋面亦更廣。陳氏伉儷於2001年在新加坡正式成立陳江和基金會,活動的受助範圍如今已擴展至中國內地、香港、新加坡及美國,同時,基金會亦捐款資助香港科技大學陳江和亞洲家族企業與創業研究中心的相關工作。

推動3E」紓解貧困

陳江和先生說:「我們專注推動『3E』紓解貧困,所謂的『3E』,就是支持教育(Education)、提升能力,(Enhancement)和改善民生(Empowerment)。」

基金會開展了多項與教育相關的活動,其中包括資助教學培訓,以及每年贊助700多項獎學金。「我們深信教育有助擺脫貧困、改善生活,希望為年輕人創造新機遇,幫助他們達成脫貧目標。」陳先生解釋。

至於「提升」方面,基金會經常協助提供潔淨用水、改善公共衛生及醫療保健等基本設施。同時,基金會亦提供生產資產、創業資本、技術技能及市場管道,幫助許多家庭發展謀生技能,開展可持續生計。

基金會與家族業務

基金會的工作不僅突顯了陳江和夫婦所關心的事宜和興趣,同時亦彰顯出陳氏家族新生代樂善好施的個性。

陳江和先生解釋:「子女都忙於打理生意,但仍會騰出一定時間參與慈善工作。目前,基金會由我女兒牽頭,小兒子亦參與其中,並委聘了職業經理人營運基金會,由家中多位成員及外聘顧問出任董事會成員。」

陳江和先生表示,「感恩」是家中的核心價值觀之一,他在子女年幼時就開始灌輸博愛觀念,包括在子女生日當天一同探訪孤兒院,讓子女學懂扶助弱小、與人分享的重要性。

如今,子女都已長大成人,看到他們為基金會的工作注入新抱負和構想,陳先生深感欣慰。「讓下一代引領我們,體察社會需要及發揮我們的影響力,展現家族的目標、信念及熱忱。」

陳氏一家藉著共襄善舉,找到營商以外的共同目標。「面對商業決策,我們或會各有不同取向,但作為一家人攜手行善,我們卻團結一致。」

陳江和先生認為,行善的過程也有助培養下一代的集體決策能力。「問題不在於妥協,而是在於子女學懂靈活溝通,從而作出最為明智的決定。」

金鷹集團經營生意作風嚴謹,在運作家族慈善事業時亦處處流露一貫的穩健作風,其中一例便是基金會規定,行政及監管費用不得超過基金會總資金的10%。規則雖然如此,但基金會一直積極投資於機構能力發展,以貫徹「3E」的方針。

陳江和先生補充道:「衡量慈善事業對周邊社群有何影響,同樣十分重要。」

基金會現已委聘國際顧問開展研究及協助實施新的教育計劃,而第二代的家族成員亦親赴美國取經,觀摩一些知名基金會的工作及最佳實踐方法。目前,他們正在思考如何為社會帶來更大裨益。

陳氏「5C」營商理念

「無論做任何事,都必須有利當地社區(Community)和所在國家(Country),只有這樣,公司(Company)才會同樣受惠。」陳江和先生解釋:「我的子女引入了環境(Climate)和客戶(Customers)兩個新範疇,將3C理念改為5C:保護環境,為客戶創造價值,實現利民、利國、利業。」

他還指出,金鷹集團規模龐大,對經營所在社區的影響舉足輕重,集團業務好應為這些社區帶來裨益。「我們的經營模式非常簡單,就是要成為社區的一份子,而非社區的過客。」

陳江和補充說,金鷹集團自感肩負重任,矢志維持有利環境的可持續發展業務。「我們計劃在全球種植一百萬棵樹,日日如是。現在,我們正制訂碳足跡計劃,設法減少碳排放。」

「在談及家族企業的傳承或可持續發展時,我們所指的是如何跨代延續。作為家族企業,我們擁有耐心資本,讓我們得以放眼於非常遙遠的未來。」

陳江和與太太黃瑞娥自1981年起經營慈善事業,在印尼Besitang開設幼兒園。