Feature Stories

03.01.2018

Best Behavior

Although we are living in the age of FinTech and artificial intelligence, understanding human psychology and consumer motivation is still the key to business success. Those who make software and circuitry need to make use of these insights, so such knowledge is likely to become even more important in the future.

HKUST’s new Behavioral Sciences Research Lab, which opened in 2016, is a dedicated facility where researchers can carry out experiments on human behavior. “There are many departments that perform research here [in the Behavioral Sciences Research Lab],” explains the new lab’s founding director Rashmi Adaval,  a professor in the Department of Marketing. “The departments that are using the lab right now are marketing, management, economics, and information systems,” she says.

“In marketing, we look more at consumption-related issues for consumers, whereas faculty in management look at more organizational issues, such as equality in the workplace, fairness, stereotyping, and supervisor-employer relationships. The Department of Information Systems’ work in the lab focusses largely on the online shopping environment,” Adaval says.

Adaval says her work with consumers is rooted in psychological research. “You are trying to understand how people see things, what they pay attention to, how are they influenced, all these types of things,” she explains. “You can only do these things in a lab setting, where you can control all the other conditions. That way, you can be sure the effects that arise are due to the factors you’ve manipulated.”

The professor cites the effect of temperature on spending patterns as an example. “It’s hard to do this outside, because along with the heat, there are all sorts of things that have an effect,” she says. In a lab setting, subjects can be isolated from extraneous phenomena, like traffic noise, that could interfere with the results.

The equipment in the lab includes a few eye-tracking machines, which can record, for example, the parts of a website which attract the most attention from subjects. There is also a face-reading device, which can track emotional expressions and register whether subjects are feeling happy, angry or sad, and a mirror which allows researchers to observe the behavior of subjects. Software includes applications that measure reaction times to stimuli with millisecond accuracy enabling researchers to predict what information was most accessible in memory when decisions were made. Other software also allows researchers to present a stimulus, such as an ad or prices subliminally to see if consumer responses are affected by these brief exposures.  

This year, research into food and eating behavior has been conducted in the lab. This includes research into the food choices children make, Adaval says. “We’ve also had a couple of faculty members working on obesity. They’ve been looking at why it is increasing, and why people are not able to stop eating,” she adds.

The relationship between scarcity and consumer behavior is another developing field of study. “We’ve started to look at people who are surviving on, say, US$2 a day. We look at the ways in which they react to the cues about a life of plenty advertisers present them with, when they are barely managing to survive,” says Adaval. The professor explains that, even in relatively affluent Hong Kong, a psychological sense of scarcity can be replicated in the lab.

Hong Kong’s location and history offer unique research opportunities, as consumers in the city have been exposed to the cultures of both Britain and China. “If you give them things in Chinese, they tend to read and think differently than when you give them things in English. This affects how they make judgments and decisions,” Adaval says.

The new facility builds on the legacy of Seshan Ramaswami, an assistant professor at HKUST’s marketing department in the 1990s. Ramaswami, an associate professor at the Singapore Management University since 2000, designed the original Behavioral Lab at HKUST in the 1990s, back in the early days of the Business School. Ramaswami realized that such a facility would be essential if the business school was to build a reputation as a research powerhouse.

“When I first came here nearly 20 years ago, I was stunned,” admits Adaval. “At that time, none of the big universities, including the University of Berkeley and places like that, had such a lab.”

Ramaswami’s strategy paid off, as the facility made HKUST a magnet for top researchers. Lab-based behavioral research propelled several departments into the world’s top 10, based on cumulative research.

The marketing department’s approach is based on the idea that marketing should be about consumer wellfare. The Behavioral Sciences Research Lab conducts fundamental research on the cognitive, emotional and social factors that affect human behavior.

“Most of our research is funded by the Hong Kong government through grants, and the knowledge we build up in the lab can later lead to policy changes, such as clearer labelling practices,” says Adaval.

Facilities at a Glance

Major Hardware

  • Tobii Eye-Tracker Machine—a device to measure eye positions and movements to track which part of a website attract most readers’ attention
  • Noldus Face-reader – a device to analyze facial expression and learn how people respond to for example a commercial’s new design
  • TV sets for the purpose of broadcasting videos and movies
  • Central PA system and recording system
Major software

  • Qualtrics—a sophisticated online survey platform that allows users to create and administer questionnaires both online and in lab.
  • MediaLab—a software for the creation of multimedia psychological experiments and questionnaires.
  • DirectRT—a software for the creation of experiments requiring high precision stimulus presentation and measurement of reaction times.
  • E-Prime—a comprehensive software for designing interactive behavioral research, measuring reaction times of subjects.

商學院故事

03.01.2018

研究消費行為

儘管生活在金融科技及人工智能年代,瞭解消費者心理及動機仍是不少業成功的關鍵。因此,我們值得透過現代化的設施與技術,深入研究消費者的行為及反應。

商學院於2016年啟用的行為科學研究實驗室(Behavioral Sciences Research Lab),讓研究人員可透過針對性的設施,對人類行為進行實驗。實驗室創辦人兼市場學系教授Rashmi Adaval稱:「不同學系都會在這裡進行實驗,現時使用實驗室的學系包括市場學、管理學、經濟學及資訊系統學等不同學者。」

Adaval說:「市場學集中研究消費行為,而管理學則研究組織架構問題,如工作環境、公平、定型及監管者與僱主的關係,資訊系統學系主要研究網上購物。」

Adaval表示她本身的研究以消費者心理為主。「我們希望瞭解人如何看待事物,他們關注甚麼及如何受影響。有些研究只能在實驗室環境下進行,在此你可以控制其他條件,這樣便可確定結果是由所控制的因素產生。」

她引用溫度等外界環境對消費者的影響作為例子。她說:「有些研究在外面難以進行,因為除高溫外,其他因素都會產生影響。」在實驗室環境下,我們能將實驗對象與可能影響結果的外在事物(如交通噪音)隔離。

實驗室設備包括眼球追蹤器(可記錄最吸引實驗對象的網站位置)、面部表情分析系統(追蹤表情並記錄實驗對象是否高興、憤怒或傷心),以及一塊讓研究員觀察實驗對象行為的鏡子。軟件包括量度反應時間的應用程式,精準度達至毫秒,讓研究員預測實驗對象作出決定時最先記起的資訊。其他軟件亦讓可研究員觀察消費者對廣告或價格等的潛意識反應,看看他們會否受這些因素影響。

去年,實驗室進行了食物及飲食行為的研究,Adaval表示當中包括兒童選擇食物的研究。她補充道:「我們有幾位教職員正在研究肥胖症,探討為何肥胖個案增加及暴飲暴食的原因。」

稀缺資源與消費者行為的關係是另一個研究題目。Adaval稱:「我們已開始研究每日只靠兩美元過活的實驗對象,觀察他們在生活拮据的情況下如何應對廣告的誘惑。」她指出,即使在相對富裕的香港,實驗室仍可探討資源不足的心理狀況。

鑒於香港消費者同時接觸中英文化,香港的地理位置及歷史因素提供獨特的研究機會。Adaval表示:「相對於英文訊息,若你向他們展示中文訊息,他們往往有不同的理解及想法,這有可能影響消費者的判斷及決定。」

實驗室以1990年代香港科大市場學系助理教授Seshan Ramaswami的構思為基礎。Ramaswami當年認為設施會對商學院能否在研究方面取得成績十分重要。

Adaval表示:「當20多年前來到時,對科大已有這構思感到十分驚訝,因為當年包括加州大學伯克萊分校尚未有這類實驗室。」

Ramaswami成功爭取建立該實驗室,令科大吸引更多頂尖學者加盟。累積多年以實驗室為基礎的行為研究,令學系在發表研究論文上躋身世界十大。

科大市場學系重視消費者的權益。行為科學研究實驗室針對影響人類行為的認知、情感及社會因素的基本研究。

Adaval稱:「我們的大部分研究由香港政府撥款資助,而我們在實驗室所獲得的知識可推動政策改變,如使用更明確清晰的標籤,為業界作出貢獻」。

設施概覽

主要硬件

  • Tobii 眼球追蹤器 — 此儀器量度眼球的位置及移動,以追蹤最吸引讀者的網站位置
  • 電視 - 播放影片及電影進行研究
  • 中央廣播系統錄音系統
主要軟

  • Qualtrics—綜合網上調查平台讓用戶在網上及實驗室製作及管理問卷
  • MediaLab—設計多媒體心理實驗及問卷
  • DirectRT—設計並量度實驗對象對高精準度展示的反應
  • E-Prime—設計互動行為研究,量度實驗對象的反應