Feature Stories

03.01.2018

UHackFin Brings Inaugural FinTech Week to a Successful Conclusion

Giving participants 24 hours to turn ideas into reality, the first UHackFin, or FinTech hackathon, organized by the HKUST Business School was hailed as an overwhelming success by all involved.

UHackFin was a competition open to current students and alumni of tertiary-level institutions in Hong Kong, and 24 teams took the opportunity to combine creative ideas with technical skills to build a new app, system or product with the potential to disrupt the finance industry.

Run with the support of the HKUST Entrepreneurship Center and sponsored by Alibaba Cloud, UHackFin took place on 4 and 5 November, bringing the inaugural FinTech University week to a successful conclusion.

HKUST President Tony Chan, who presented prizes to the hackathon winners at the awards ceremony, said the hackathon and the week-long program of FinTech-related events was another example of how HKUST is putting its resources and know-how behind Hong Kong's efforts to develop and promote the industry.

Ability to identify "real" industry challenges

The 15-member panel of judges complimented all participants on their ability to identify "real" industry challenges and develop innovative solutions. These involved everything from secure voice recognition to managing stock portfolios and assessing credit ratings.

The judges, all from the business sector, noted that these types of projects could make a difference in the world of finance and beyond. They also praised the unique concepts, insightful presentations, clever use of technology, and completeness of the work done. In addition, they noted that the approaches taken to resolving “pain points” and easing customer friction could be of lasting consequence.

The winning team, Kibbutz, of Clement Gohlke, Lucas Gaylord and Long Hoong devised a solution for the long-standing issue of how to allocate and account for money donated to charities. The Year 4 HKUST computer science students impressed with a combination of algorithms and Bitcoin used for transactions and verification. 

“We received immediate interest in our project as a concept that can be further developed,” said Clement.

The wining trio used the latest technology to demonstrate that FinTech is not just about applications for financial services, but has relevance for anywhere transactions and payments take place. Long said UHackFin was the best organized hackathon he has participated in and was grateful for the advice and encouragement given by judges throughout the 24-hour period. The winners received HK$20,000; first runner-up team Expeditioner got HK$10,000; and second runner-up team Buzo took home HK$8,000.

FinTech in Hong Kong: Opportunities and Challenges

The week-long FinTech events began with a session at which alumni shared their insights and experiences regarding opportunities and challenges amid the rise of FinTech. Three entrepreneurs took part: Samson Lee (MBA/MSc), Co-founder of Ethereum South China and South Asia, a decentralized platform that runs smart contracts applications; Jonathan Lee (BBA in Finance), Co-founder of 300cubits, a blockchain initiative relieving the “pain points” within the container shipping industry; and Bianca Ho (BBA in Global Business), Co-founder of Clare.AI, an end-to-end digital assistant solution which focuses on real data from the financial industry.

Following their presentations, the three joined a panel discussion moderated by Professor Hui Kai Lung, Chair Professor and Deputy Head of the Department of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management.

Also featured during the week were a series of career and company talks by our faculty and industry experts, presenting to participants an outlook of the financial services sector driven by technology in the coming years.

An extension of HK FinTech Week

The exciting week of FinTech events organized by the HKUST Business School echoed the Hong Kong FinTech Week led by Invest Hong Kong (InvestHK), which drew more than 4,000 attendees from over 50 countries. The Hong Kong FinTech Week was followed by “FinTech Education Week”, which started on 30 October, involving a series of FinTech events at other locations, and universities in the city including the HKUST Business School - with a goal to become a major intellectual powerhouse of FinTech.

商學院故事

03.01.2018

UHackFin為學院首屆金融科技周劃上圓滿句號

科大商學院首度舉辦的FinTech黑客松(FinTech HackathonUHackFin取得豐碩成果,比賽中參賽者須在24小時內,將創意演繹為可行方案。

UHackFin開放予所有本地大專院校學生及畢業生參與。24支參賽隊伍可借此機會將構思、意念與技術結合,設計出全新的應用程式或產品,希望日後能顛覆金融業的未來。

UHackFin由科大商學院與創業中心合辦,並獲阿里雲贊助,於2017年11月4及5日舉行,活動為首屆舉辦的金融科技周劃上圓滿句號。

科大校長陳繁昌教授擔任UHackFin的頒獎嘉賓,他表示UHackFin與為期一星期的金融科技周活動,展現科大致力投放資源及鼓勵技術發展的承諾,活動有助推動本港科技發展。

辨別業界挑戰

評審小組由15人組成,他們讚揚參賽者在辨別業界挑戰,以及發展創新解決方案的能力。這些創意方案涵蓋各方面,當中包括聲音識別保安、股票組合管理及信貸評級評估等。

全部來自商界的評審小組認同這類活動可為金融、甚至其他行業帶來衝擊。他們對參賽者作品的獨特意念、深具洞察的報告、善用科技的能力,以及作品的完整性,作出了高度讚揚。此外,他們認為各作品就解決問題及減低消費者爭議而提出的方案可能影響深遠。

是次勝出的隊伍由Clement Gohlke、Lucas Gaylord 與Long Hoong 所組成的Kibbutz團隊。他們針對慈善捐款的分發及管理,設計了一套解決方案。這三位科大電腦學系四年級學生的方案結合了演算,以及在交易與驗證上使用比特幣。

Clement說:「我們的方案獲得即時回應,認為這個意念可作進一步開發。」

這得獎三人組透過使用新科技,證明金融科技不只局限於業內使用,舉凡牽涉到交易及付款,與此亦有關聯。Long 指出,UHackFin是他所參與過的「黑客松」活動中辦得最好的,亦十分感謝評審在歷時24小時的賽期內,給予他鼓勵與建議。比賽冠軍獲獎港幣20,000元,而亞軍Expeditioner及季軍Buzo分別獲獎港幣10,000元及8,000元。

金融科技在港的機遇與挑戰

為期一周的金融科技活動以科大校友分享活動揭開序幕。三位創業家兼校友就「金融科技在港的機遇與挑戰」為題分享經驗。他們分別是Ethereum (South China and South Asia)聯合創始人李尚信(工商管理碩士/理學碩士)、300cubits聯合創始人李可興(本科財務學)、及Clare.AI聯合創始人何思穎(本科環球商業管理)。Ethereum是一個管理智能合約程式的分散平台,而300cubits則透過區塊鏈針對貨櫃航運業的問題,至於Clare.AI是個點對點、針對金融業真實數據處理的數碼助手方案。

三位校友同時參與由資訊、商業統計及營運管理學系副主任許佳龍講座教授主持的討論環節。

除上述活動外,科技周同期亦舉辦了一連串由學院及業界專家主講的職業及企業講座,向參與者簡界金融服務業的前景,以及由科技主導的未來發展。

香港科技周的延伸

由商學院舉辦的各項金融科技周活動,主要為響應香港金融科技周。香港金融科技周由投資推廣署舉辦,吸引了來自超過50個國家逾4,000 位參加者。緊接香港金融科技周的,是於10月20日揭幕的「金融教育周」。「金融教育周」在不同的地點舉辦了多場與金融科技為題的活動,當中包括各大學及科大商學院。科大希望透過這些活動推動學院金融科技的發展。