Feature Stories

30.08.2018

No Finish Line for Innovation

One year stands out in the career story of Ms Angela Dong, Nike's Global Vice-President and General Manager of Greater China. That year was 2008, when the Olympic Games were held in Beijing, and Angela was studying on the Kellogg-HKUST EMBA Program. That was an amazing year, she recalls.

Angela was drawn to the Program’s global mindset and scope, and its sharp focus on Asia. Once her studies had begun, the relationships she developed with the other members of the KH10 cohort  stood out as particular highlights.

“I got to know my classmates very well during the Program, both through working and socializing with them,” Angela says. The way in which she and her classmates collaborated on projects demonstrated what could be achieved when people with different areas of expertise work together as a team, she adds.

“I’ll also never forget the time I spent with my classmates during our overseas elective,” Angela says. She chose the course at Evanston in Chicago, which she describes as “unforgettable”. The Program was "a sort of melting pot, where people from different cultural, educational and professional backgrounds all got together to achieve common goals", Angela says. "It was inspirational to see how the intersection of these different perspectives generates the most innovative ideas.”

The long-term friendships and partnerships formed on the Program have been maintained over the years. Angela says that although work pressures often restrict opportunities to chat, her classmates try to meet whenever they are in the same city. They always look forward to these opportunities to find out about each others’ progress and thoughts, Angela explains.

“I occasionally attend alumni events, and I find them a very useful way to meet old classmates, and see how we can form new partnerships,” she says. "I have met more and more alumni, and I am always impressed by how large the alumni network is.”

Angela says that the varied and inclusive nature of the Program exposed her to - and enabled her to learn about - topics outside her own area of expertise. Such knowledge has been extremely helpful to her career, she adds. “We were able to cultivate a global mindset by learning together within such a diverse group, and the coursework helped us to pinpoint our learning, so it was locally relevant and applicable in our own areas of expertise,” Angela explains.

Now another of the Program’s Distinguished Alumni, Angela chose "Leading in an Age of Disruption" as the theme of her presentation to the Program’s Management Conference.

“Disruption is the essence of what we do at Nike,” she says. “To us, disruption is not only good, it is also necessary. It’s necessary so we can redefine what’s best. It’s necessary for us to reinvent ourselves, to always stay ahead.”

With the nation inspired by the skill and athleticism of the Beijing Games' competitors, the challenge for Nike and Angela was to then sustain this passion for the culture of sport.

One way the company could help achieve this was through a change in its approach to its customers, she explains. “Instead of treating them as a shopper, we now serve them with a completely innovative approach, with everything centered on the sports they feel passionate about,” Angela says.

The increasing use of digital and mobile technology is another form of disruption embraced by Nike, "as a service company, as a sports company, and as a product company", Angela says. The technology offers an opportunity to create a direct and personal connection with customers on multiple levels, and has speeded up Nike’s entire design-to-shop process. “All these new ideas, and all this openness to disruption enables us to be able to put our Nike ecosystem into the new, broader retail system,” Angela says.

As with her own connections to fellow Kellogg-HKUST alumni, Angela sees no end to this system of innovation and change. “As we say in Nike, there’s no finish line.”

商學院故事

30.08.2018

創意革新 永無終點

董煒是Nike耐克全球副總裁兼耐克大中華區總經理,在她的職業生涯裡,2008年稱得上是最特別的一年。那年,北京主辦奧運,而她正就讀凱洛格-科大EMBA課程,經歷了精采及記憶猶新的一年。

對於董煒來說,這個課程具備全球視野,涉獵範圍廣闊,當中又以亞洲為重點,可謂十分吸引。開課後,她與一眾KH10班同學建立了友誼,這是她最特別的收穫。

「修讀期間,我與各同學一起工作、互相交流,彼此建立了深厚情誼。」董煒表示,她與同學合作完成項目習作的經歷,充分顯示各方專才只要同心協力,確能成就大事。

「我永遠不會忘記,在海外修讀選修科時與同學們共度的美好時光。」董煒形容,她選讀芝加哥埃文斯頓(Evanston)的課程,當年學習的情境「畢生難忘」。「這課程就像一個大熔爐,不同文化、教育及專業背景的人匯聚一起,同心合力達成目標,」董煒表示:「不同觀點所產生的創新思維,令我深受啟發。」

修讀期間建立的友情和默契,即使年月過去依然深厚如昔。董煒表示,大家工作壓力不輕,閒聊機會不多,可是大家每次身處同一城市時,仍會盡力抽時間見面。董煒說,大家很珍惜這些相聚時間,了解彼此的近況和想法。

「我偶爾會參與舊生聚會,這是與舊同學碰面兼認識新夥伴的好方法,」她說:「我認識的校友越來越多,亦常常為這強大的校友網絡而感到欣慰。」

董煒說,這課程的內容既豐富又全面 ,有助她學習自己專長領域之外的知識。這些知識令她的職業生涯獲益良多。她解釋說:「與來自不同背景的人一同學習,我們得以培養國際思維。另外,課堂作業有助鞏固所學,令我們能夠學以致用,在自己的專業領域上運用所學的知識。」

董煒現成為該課程的傑出校友之一。在課程週年論壇上,她以「顛覆年代的領導技巧」(Leading in an Age of Disruption)作為演說題目。

「顛覆是我們Nike精於應對的境況,」她表示:「對我們來說,顛覆不只是好事,更是必要的境況。只有這樣,我們才可重新定義何謂最佳。亦只有這樣,我們才能重新發掘自己的潛能,時刻保持領先地位。」

北京奧運中,參賽者的技術和體能為全國帶來啟發。而Nike及董煒的任務,就是把這份對體育文化的熱誠延續下去。

方法之一,是改變公司的銷售策略。她闡述道:「我們不再視顧客為消費者,而是以創新的服務模式,事事以他們愛好的運動為重心。」

董煒說,Nike作為一家「服務公司、體育公司、產品公司」,另一種應對顛覆的方式,就是加強使用數碼及流動通訊科技。這些新科技可在多個層次上為公司和顧客建立直接而個人化的聯繫,加快了Nike由產品設計至推出門市的整個過程。董煒表示:「憑著這些新思維,加上對顛覆所持的開放態度,我們成功把Nike的生態系統納入嶄新且更廣闊的零售系統。」

至於與凱洛格-科大一眾校友的關係,董煒認為這種創新和變化將無邊無盡延展下去。「一如我們在Nike常說的一句話:這場比賽永無終點。」